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EDUCATION AND TAXPAYER FAIRNESS ACT

SECTION 1. Title.

This measure shall be known and may be cited as the “Education and Taxpayer Fairness
Act.”

SECTION 2. Findings and Declaration of Purpose.

1. Investing in our children’s education is the most important thing we can do for their future
and the future of our State.

2. A stable, reliable source of revenue is needed to fund our public schools and state colleges.

3. California schools and state colleges are drastically underfunded. Funding for K-12 education
in California has been well below the national average for more than a decade. Our state
university and community colleges have cut back their offerings and increased tuition to the
point where they are no longer viable options for many California students whose families

cannot afford to help them with their education.

-4. Because of the state budget crisis, education spending in California has been cut by more than
$17 billion from the K-12 school system. These cuts have resulted in lay offs of more than
20,000 classroom teachers and educational support staff, fewer textbooks and other classroom
materials, and enormous class sizes. Similar cuts have left our community colleges and state
university system without the funds they need to provide a quality education to every California
student who wants one. We need to restore these cuts and ensure that our classrooms are
adequately funded.

5. As aresult of chronic underfunding, California class sizes are among the largest in the nation,
denying children the individualized learning they deserve. '

6. California must improve student performance by increasing funding to reduce class sizes,
provide new instructional supplies and materials, offer teacher training and increase teacher
compensation in order to attract the best and brightest into the teaching profession.

7. A well-educated workforce increases productivity and quality for California businesses.
Without affordable access to higher education, students in California will be unable to obtain the
skills they need, and California businesses will be unable to hire the workers they need in order
to compete in a world economy.

8. Education programs should be funded without raising homeowners’ property taxes or
reducing important services such as police and fire protection.

9. Homeowner’s property tax exemptions have remained the same since 1968, with no
adjustment for inflation. Homeowners’ property taxes should be reduced by doubling the



homeowner property tax exemption from $7,000 to $14,000. Qualified renters will also receive
an increase in their tax credit.

10. California’s property tax system contains a gigantic loophole that allows corporations and
commercial property owners to avoid paying their fair share. That loophole often allows
businesses to change ownership without being reassessed, which homeowners cannot do. As a
result, the burden of paying for things like police and fire services now falls more heavily on
homeowners.

11. Unlike single-family residences, commercial buildings produce income for their owners.
Furthermore, California commercial real property tax rates are among the lowest in the nation. It
makes sense, therefore, to tax commercial real property at a higher rate than private homes. The
increased revenues will be used to improve the quality of California’s public schools and
colleges. Small businesses will be protected by new exemptions from the personal property tax.

12. To reduce waste and protect against mismanagement, none of the funds for education will be
used for administrative overhead. It also provides for criminal penalties, loss of credentlals
and/or fines for administrators who misuse school funds.

13. The annual audit required by this initiative will ensure that every penny goes into our
classrooms, where it is needed most. :

14. We must ensure that these funds are used for improving learning. The funds in this initiative
will be used to supplement, and not replace, existing funding.

SECTION 3. Purpose and Intent.

1. This measure is intended to reduce property taxes for homeowners on the dwelling they
occupy by doubling the homeowners’ exemption from $7,000 to $14,000.

2. This measure is not intended to alter or repeal any other exemption currently applicable to
taxes on real property or to increase or in any way affect the property taxes paid by homeowners
on noncommercial property.

3. In addition, the People enact this measure to do the following:

a. Ensure that commercial property pays its fair share of property taxes.

b. Provide for the exclusion of $1,000,000 in personal property tax for businesses, in
order to give small businesses tax relief.

¢. Provide additional funding for school districts and higher education.



SECTION 4. Section 5.5 is hereby added to Article IX of the Constitution of the State of
California, to read as follows:

Sec. 5.5. (a) The Public School Investment and Accountability Fund is hereby created in
the State Treasury to be held in trust for the purposes set forth below and is continuously
appropriated for the support of school districts, community college districts, and the California
State University system as follows:

(1) Seventy-eight percent (78%) for the support of the K-12 educational program, the
funds to be distributed to school districts based on enrollment;

(2) Eleven percent (11%) to commumty college dzstrzcts the funds to be distributed
based on enrollment.

(3) Eleven perceni (11%) to the California State University system.

(b) Moneys in the Public School Investment and Accountability Fund are dedicated to
the support of the K-14 educational program and the California State University system=for
instructional improvement and accountability as defined by statute and shall not be used to pay
administrative costs. Except as defined by statute in the Education and Taxpayer Fairness Act
of 2010, no moneys in the Public School Investment and Accountability Fund shall be used to
supplant federal, state, or local funds used for educational programs.

(¢) The Legislature shall set penalties, including loss of credentials, fines, and/or
criminal prosecution for administrators who misuse funds appropriated and allocated pursuant
to this Section of this Article.

SECTION 5. Section 2 of Article XIII of the Constitution of the State of California is
hereby amended to read:

Sec. 2. The Legislature may provide for property taxation of all forms of tangible
personal property, shares of capital stock, evidences of indebtedness, and any legal or equitable
interest therein not exempt under any other provision of this article, provided, however, that the
first 31,000,000 of tangible personal property shall be exempt from taxation. The Legislature,
two-thirds of the membership of each house concurring, may classify such personal property for
differential taxation or for exemption. The tax on any interest in notes, debentures, shares of
capital stock, bonds, solvent credits, deeds of trust, or mortgages shall not exceed four-tenths of
one percent of full value, and the tax per dollar of full value shall not be higher on personal
property than on real property in the same taxing jurisdiction.

SECTION 6. Section 3 of Article XIII of the Constitution of the State of California is
hereby amended to read:

Sec. 3. The following are exempt from property taxation:

(a) Property owned by the State.



(b) Property owned by a local government, except as otherwise provided in
Section 11(a).

(c) Bonds issued by the State or a local government in the State.

(d) Property used for libraries and museums that are free and open to the public and
property used exclusively for public schools, community colleges, state colleges, and state
universities. :

(e) Buildings, land, equipment, and securities used exclusively for educational purposes
by a nonprofit institution of higher education.

(f) Buildings, land on which they are situated, and equipment used exclusively for
religious worship. :

(g) Property used or held exclusively for the permanent deposit of human dead or for the
care and maintenance of the property or the dead, except when used or held for profit. This
property is also exempt from special assessment.

(h) Growing crops.

(1) Fruit and nut trees until 4 years after the season in which they were planted in orchard
form and grape vines until 3 years after the season in which they were planted in vineyard form.

() Immature forest trees planted on lands not previously bearing merchantable timber or
planted or of natural growth on lands from which the merchantable original growth timber stand
to the extent of 70 percent of all trees over 16 inches in diameter has been removed. Forest trees
or timber shall be considered mature at such time after 40 years from the time of planting or
removal of the original timber when so declared by a majority vote of a board consisting of a
representative from the State Board of Forestry, a representative from the State Board of
Equalization, and the assessor of the county in which the trees are located.

The Legislature may supersede the foregoing provisions with an alternative system or
systems of taxing or exempting forest trees or timber, including a taxation system not based on
property valuation. Any alternative system or systems shall provide for exemption of
unharvested immature trees, shall encourage the continued use of timberlands for the production
of trees for timber products, and shall provide for restricting the use of timberland to the
production of timber products and compatible uses with provisions for taxation of timberland
based on the restrictions. Nothing in this paragraph shall be construed to exclude timberland
from the provisions of Section 8 of this article.

(k) $7660 314,000 of the full value of a dwelling, as defined by the Legislature, when
occupied by an owner as his principal residence, unless the dwelling is receiving another real
property exemption. The Legislature may increase this exemption and may deny it if the owner
received state or local aid to pay taxes either in whole or in part, and either directly or indirectly,
on the dwelling.



No increase in this exemption above the amount of $%4060 314,000 shall be effective for
any fiscal year unless the Legislature increases the rate of state taxes in an amount sufficient to
provide the subventions required by Section 25.

If the Legislature increases the homeowners’ property tax exemption, it shall provide
increases in benefits to qualified renters, as defined by law, comparable to the average increase
in benefits to homeowners, as calculated by the Legislature.

() Vessels of more than 50 tons burden in this State and engaged in the transportation of
freight or passengers. -

(m) Household furnishings and personal effects not held or used in connection with a
trade, profession, or business.

(n) Any debt secured by land.

(o) Property in the amount of $1,000 of a claimant who—

(1) is serving in or has served in and has been discharged under honorable conditions
from service in the United States Army, Navy, Air Force, Marine Corps, Coast Guard, or
Revenue Marine (Revenue Cutter) Service; and—

(2) served either

. (1) in time of war, or

(ii) in time of peace in a campaign or expedition for which a medal has been issued by
Congress, or . :

(iii) in time of peace and because of a service-connected disability was released from
active duty; and—

(3) resides in the State on the current lien date.
An unmarried person who owns property valued at $5,000 or more, or a married person,
who, together with the spouse, owns property valued at $10,000 or more, is ineligible for this

exemption.

If the claimant is married and does not own property eligible for the full amount of the
exemption, property of the spouse shall be eligible for the unused balance of the exemption.

(p) Property in the amount of $1,000 of a claimant who—

(1) is the unmarried spouse of a deceased veteran who met the service requirement stated
in paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection 3(0), and



(2) does not own property in excess of $10,000, and
(3) is a resident of the State on the current lien date.
(q) Property in the amount of $1,000 of a claimant who—

(1) is the parent of a deceased veteran who met the service requirements stated in
paragraphs (1) and (2) of subsection 3(0), and

(2) receives a pension because of the veteran’s service, and
(3) is aresident of the State on the current lien date.
Either parent of a deceased veteran may claim this exemption.

An unmarried person who owns property valued at $5,000 or more, or a married person,
who, together with the spouse, owns property valued at $10,000 or more, is ineligible for this
exemption.

(r) No individual residing in the State on the effective date of the amendment who would
have been eligible for the exemption provided by the previous section 1-1/4 of this article had it -
not been repealed shall lose eligibility for the exemption as a result of this amendment.

SECTION 7. Section 1 of Article XIII A of the Constitution of the State of California is
hereby amended to read:

Sec. 1. (a) The Except as provided in subdivisions (b), (e), and (f), the maximum amount
of any ad valorem tax on real property shall not exceed One percent (1%) of the full cash value
of such property. No new ad valorem taxes shall be imposed on residential real property except

Jor taxes identified in subdivisions (e) and (f). The one percent (1% tax te shall be collected by
the counties and apportioned according to law to the districts within the counties.

(b) Notwithstanding any other provision of law or of this Constitution, in addition to the
ad valorem property tax on real property imposed pursuant to subdivision (a), for the 2011-12
fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter, there is hereby imposed on nonresidential real
property that is not used for commercial agricultural production or that is not otherwise exempt
under the Constitution or statute an additional ad valorem property tax at the rate of .55 percent
of the full cash value of that property.

(c) The ad valorem tax imposed by subdivision (b) shall be collected by the counties and
transferred to the State Treasury for distribution pursuant to Section 8.6 of Article XVI.

(d) For purposes of this section:

(1) “Nonresidential real property” means any real property other than a single-family or
multifamily dwelling unit that is intended to be used primarily as a permanent



residence and is used primarily as a permanent residence or that is zoned as a
residence, and the land on which that unit is constructed, or any portion of the
property used as a residence.

(2) Nonresidential real property is “used for commercial agricultural production” if that
real property is used and zoned for producing commercial agricultural commodities
and is real property to which either of the following applies:

(4) The real property is an unimproved parcel.
(B) The parcel of real property contains only living improvements.

(3) “Unimproved parcel” means a parcel of real property to which both of the following
apply: :

(A) The parcel is used and zoned for producing commercial agricultural commodities.

(B) The parcel does not contain any single-family residence or multifamily residence that
was subdivided in accordance with the Subdivision Map Act, or any successor to that
law, or that was described and conveyed in one or more deeds separating the parcel
Jfrom all adjoining property.

(4) “Otherwise exempt under the Constitution or statute” means any property which is
exempt from taxation pursuant to the Constitution, or any property exempt by statute
enacted consistent with and permissible under the Constitution.

tb)(e) The limitations provided for in subdivisions (a) and (b) shall not apply to ad
valorem taxes or special assessments to pay the interest and redemption charges on any of the
following:

(1) Indebtedness approved by the voters prior to July 1, 1978.

(2) Bonded indebtedness for the acquisition or improvement of real property approved
on or after July 1, 1978, by two-thirds of the votes cast by the voters voting on the proposition.

(3) Bonded indebtedness incurred by a school district, community college district, or
county office of education for the construction, reconstruction, rehabilitation, or replacement of
school facilities, including the furnishing and equipping of school facilities, or the acquisition or
lease of real property for school facilities, approved by 55 percent of the voters of the district or
county, as appropriate, voting on the proposition on or after the effective date of the measure
adding this paragraph. This paragraph shall apply only if the proposition approved by the voters
and resulting in the bonded indebtedness includes all of the following accountability
- requirements:

(A) A requirement that the proceeds from the sale of the bonds be used only for the
purposes specified in Article XIII A, Section 1€b}(e)(3), and not for any other purpose, including
teacher and administrator salaries and other school operating expenses.



(B) A list of the specific school facilities projects to be funded and certification that the
school district board, community college board, or county office of education has evaluated
safety, class size reduction, and information technology needs in developing that list.

(C) A requirement that the school district board, community college board, or county
office of education conduct an annual, independent performance audit to ensure that the funds
have been expended only on the specific projects listed.

(D) A requirement that the school district board, community college board, or county
office of education conduct an annual, independent financial audit of the proceeds from the sale
of the bonds until all of those proceeds have been expended for the school facilities projects.

€} (f) Notwithstanding any other provisions of law or of this Constitution, school
districts, community college districts, and county offices of education may levy a 55 percent vote
ad valorem tax pursuant to subdivision €b)-(e) on all property described in subdivisions (a)
and (b) that is not otherwise exempt from taxation.

SECTION 8. Section 8.3 is added to Article XVI of the California Constitution to read:

Sec. 8.3. (a) Funds appropriated pursuant to subdivision (a) of Section 5.5 of Article IX
shall not be deemed to be part of “total allocations to school districts and community college
districts from General Fund proceeds of taxes appropriated pursuant to Article XIIIB and
allocated local proceeds of taxes” for purposes of paragraphs (2) and (3) of subdivision (b) of
Section 8.

(b) Revenues derived from the taxes imposed pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 1 of
Article XIIIA shall not be deemed to be “General Fund revenues which may be appropriated
pursuant to Article XIIIB” for purposes of paragraph (1) of subdivision (b) of Section 8 nor shall
they be considered in the determination of “per capita General Fund revenues” for purposes of
subdivisions (b) and (e) of Section 8.

SECTION 9. Section 8.6 is added to Article XVI of the California Constitution to read:

Sec. 8.6 (a) During each fiscal year, from the revenues generated by the additional ad
valorem property tax imposed pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 1 of Article XIII A, the
Controller shall first do the following:

(1) calculate and transfer to each county treasury the amount necessary to offset the loss
resulting in that fiscal year from the personal property tax exemption established by Section 2 of
Article X11I;

(2) calculate and transfer to each county treasury the amount necessary to offset the loss
resulting in that fiscal year from the increase from $7,000 to 314,000 in the homeowner’s tax
exemption established by Section 3(k) of Article XIII. This transfer shall be in addition to the
transfer of General Fund moneys made pursuant to Section 25 of Article XIII to offset the loss
resulting from the first $7,000 of the homeowner’s tax exemption.



(3) calculate and transfer to the State General Fund the amount necessary to offset the
decrease in State personal and corporate income tax revenues caused by increased deductions
taken as a result of the additional ad valorem property tax imposed pursuant to paragraph (1) of
subdivision (b) of Section 1 of Article XIII A and the increase in the renter’s tax credit pursuant
to Section 17053.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code.

(b) The Controller shall transfer the revenues remaining after the distribution made
pursuant to subdivision (a) including any interest earned thereon, to the Public School
Investment and Accountability Fund for allocation and distribution as set forth in Section 5.5 of
Article IX.

SECTION 10. Section 14 is hereby added to Article XIII B of the Constitution to read:

Sec. 14 (a) For purposes of this Article, “proceeds of taxes” shall not include the
revenues derived from the taxes imposed pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 1 of
Article XIIT A.

(b) For purposes of this Article, “ap’propriatiohs subject to limitation” of each entity of
government shall not include appropriations of revenues derived from the taxes imposed
pursuant to subdivision (b) of Section 1 of Article XIIT 4.

(¢) The duty to collect the tax imposed by subdivision (b) of Section 1 of Article XIII A
shall not be considered a new program or higher level of service mandated by the State for
purposes of this Article.

SECTION 11. Chapter 1.5 is hereby added to Part 9 of Division 1 of Title 1 of the
Education Code, to read as follows:

CHAPTER 1.5 THE EDUCATION AND TAXPAYER FAIRNESS ACT
ARTICLE 1. GENERAL PROVISIONS

Sec. 14100. For purposes of this Chapter and Section 5.5 of Article IX of the California
Constitution, the following shall apply:

(a) “School districts” means school districts, county offices of education, charter
schools, and direct elementary and secondary level instructional services provided by the State.

(b) “Teacher” means a non-management certifi cated or teacher permit employee of a
school district or county office of education.

(c) “Enrollment” in the K-12 educational program means each school district’s average
daily attendance. :

(d) “Enrollment” in the community college districts means the number of each district’s
full-time equivalent students.



Sec. 14101 (a) Each school district shall prepare and file with the State Superintendent
of Public Instruction an annual audit of the funds received from the Public School Investment
and Accountability Fund. The audit may be prepared separately or as part of any annual audit
required by the State, but it shall show how the funds were spent by category and program.
School districts shall post the audit reports required pursuant to this Section on their Internet
websites. If a district does not maintain an Internet website, it shall forward its audit to the State

Superintendent of Public Instruction, who shall post it on the State Superintendent’s website.

(b) The Trustees of the California State University and the Board of Governors of the
California Community Colleges shall prepare an annual audit of the funds received from the
Public School Investment and Accountability Fund. The audit may be prepared separately or as
part of any annual audit required by the State, but it shall show how the funds were spent by
category and program. The audit reports requzred pursuant to this Section shall be posted on
each entity’s Internet website.

Sec. 14102. The Superintendent of Public Instruction shall not include funds distributed
pursuant to this Chapter in calculating and apportzomng funds as provided in Sections 2558,
42238, or 56836.08.

ARTICLE 2. DISTRIBUTION OF FUNDING FOR K-12 AND HIGHER EDUCATION

Sec. 14120. After July 1, 2011, the Controller shall distribute the revenues in the Public
School Investment and Accountability Fund at least twice during the fiscal year to school
districts and community college districts based on their enrollment and to the Trustees of the
California State University for use according to this Chapter. The funds shall be spent only for
the purposes set forth in this Chapter and in Section 5.5 of Article IX of the Calzforma
Constztutzon

ARTICLE 3. PUBLIC SCHOOL INVESTMENT AND ACCOUNTABILITY FUND

Sec. 14702. The funds provided to school districts pursuant to Section 5.5 of Article IX of
the State Constitution shall be expended or encumbered during the fiscal year received
exclusively for the purpose of instructional improvement and accountability.

(a) For purposes of this Section, “instructional improvement and accountability” shall
mean expenditures for school sites that directly benefit the instruction of students and shall be
~ limited to expenditures for the following:

(1) To reduce class sizes in all grades beyond the levels funded by current state
programs with the intent of lowering pupil-teacher ratios until a ratio is attained of 20 students
or fewer per teacher providing direct instruction in any classroom serving kindergarten and
grades 1 through 3, and 25 or fewer students per teacher providing direct instruction in any
grade 4 through 12 class in English language arts, reading, mathematics, science, history, and
social science.
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(2) To provide additional instructional supplies, instructional equipment including
computers and technology, instructional materials, and support services necessary to improve
school conditions.

(3) To provide direct student services, including school counselors, librarians, and
nurses needed to ensure that each student makes academic progress necessary to be promoted to
the next appropriate grade level.

(4) To provide staff development that improves services to students or increases the
quality and effectiveness of instructional staff, designed and implemented by classroom teachers
and other participating school district personnel, including the school principal, with the aid of
outside personnel as necessary. Classroom teachers shall comprise the majority of any group
designated to design such staff development programs for instructional personnel. .Staff
development should be based on best practices models appropriate for grade levels and subject -
matters to serve the needs of students in local districts.

(5) To provide shared planning time for teachers during the school day by grade or
subject matter in an effort to create schools where teachers are able to work together and
support each other to improve student learning.

(6) To provide all students the opportunity for essential programs like art, music, and
career technical and vocational education.

(7) To provide a safe and secure learning environment for public school students and

staff-

(8) To provide for compensation of certificated non-management staff and classified
non-management staff.

(b) No moneys received pursuant to this Act shall be spent on administrative costs.

(c) Funds received by each school district pursuant to this Act shall be deposited in a
separate account and shall be maintained and disbursed separately from funds from all other
sources.

Sec. 14703. The funds provided to community college districts and the California State
University system pursuant to Section 5.5 of Article IX of the State Constitution shall be
expended or encumbered during the year received exclusively for the purpose of instructional
improvement and accountability.

(a) For purposes of this section, “instructional improvement.and accountability” shall
mean expenditures for community college and state university sites that directly benefit the
instruction of students, and shall be limited to expenditures for the following:

(1) To provide individual assessment and counseling for the purpose of designing a
curriculum for each student.
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(2) To provide instructional supplies, instructional equipment, instructional materials
and support services necessary to improve campus conditions.

(3) To provide faculty development that improves instruction and increases the quality
and effectiveness of instructional staff, as mutually determined by faculty and the governing
board.

(4) To provide for compensation of faculty, counseling staff, and other non-management

staff-

(b) No moneys received pursuant to this Act shall be spent on administrative costs.

(c) Funds received by each community college district and the California State
University system pursuant to this Act shall be deposited in separate accounts and shall be
maintained and disbursed separately from funds from all other sources.

SECTION 12. Government Code Section 13340 is amended to read:

Sec. 13340. (a) Except as provided in subdivision (b), on and after July 1, 2010, no
moneys in any fund that, by any statute other than a Budget Act, are continuously appropriated
without regard to fiscal years, may be encumbered unless the Legislature, by statute, specifies
that the moneys in the fund are appropriated for encumbrance.

(b) Subdivision (a) does not apply to any of the following:

" (1) The scheduled disbursement of any local sales and use tax proceeds to any entity of
local government pursuant to Part 1.5 (commencing with Section 7200) of Division 2 of the
Revenue and Taxation Code. ’

(2) The scheduled disbursement of any transactions and use tax proceeds to an entity of
local government pursuant to Part 1.6 (commencing with Section 7251) of Division 2 of the
Revenue and Taxation Code.

(3) The scheduled disbursement of any funds by a state or local agency or department
that issues bonds and administers related programs for which funds are continuously
appropriated as of June 30, 2009.

(4) Moneys that are deposited in proprietary or fiduciary funds of the California State
University and that are continuously appropriated without regard to fiscal years.

(5) The scheduled disbursement of any motor vehicle license fee revenues to an entity of
local government pursuant to the Vehicle License Fee Law (Part 5 (commencing with
Section 10701) of Division 2 of the Revenue and Taxation Code).

(6) Moneys that are deposited in the Public School Investment and Accountability Fund.

12



- SECTION 13. Section 100.7 is hereby added to the Revenue and Taxation Code, to read:

Sec. 100.7. (a) For the 2011-12 fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter, the
Controller shall determine and remit to each county its share of the total reduction of local
property tax revenue resulting in that fiscal year from the personal property tax exemption
established by Section 2 of Article XIII of the California Constitution. Each county shall
apportion its allocation under this subdivision among the jurisdictions in that county in the same
manner as revenues derived from locally assessed property are required by law to be allocated
among those same jurisdictions.

(b) For the 2011-12 fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter, the Controller shall remit
to each county the amounts required pursuant to Section 16120 of the Government Code to

compensate each county for its share of property taxes lost as a result of the increase from
87,000 to $14,000 in the homeowner’s tax exemption established by Section 3(k) of Article XIII.

SECTION 14. Section 210 is hereby added to the Revenue and Taxation Code, to read:

Sec. 210. (a) For purposes of providing aid to business pursuant to Section 2 of
Article XIII of the California Constitution, for fiscal year 2011-12 lien date and each lien date
thereafter, there is exempted from tax the first $1 million (31,000,000) of the full value of
personal property assessable to each taxpayer.

(b) The tax exemption described in subdivision (a) and in Section 2 of Article XIII of the
California Constitution shall not apply to boats or airplanes unless they are used in the day-to-
day operation of a business.

SECTION 15. Section 218 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is hereby amended to read:

Sec. 218. (a) The homeowners’ property tax exemption is in the amount of the assessed
value of the dwelling specified in this section, as authorized by subdivision (k) of Section 3 of
Article XIII of the Constitution. For the 2011-12 fiscal year and each fiscal year thereafter,

Frhat exemption shall be in the amount of seven-theusand-deHars($70003 fourteen thousand
dollars (314,000) of the full value of the dwelling.

(b) The exemption does not extend to property that is rented, vacant, under construction
on the lien date, or that is a vacation or secondary home of the owner or owners, nor does it
apply to property on which an owner receives the veteran’s exemption.

(c) For purposes of this section, all of the following apply:

(1) “Owner” includes a person purchasing the dwelling under a contract of sale or who
holds shares or membership in a cooperative housing corporation, which holding is a requisite to
the exclusive right of occupancy of a dwelling.

(2)(A) “Dwelling” means a building, structure, or other shelter constituting a place of
abode, whether real property or personal property, and any land on which it may be situated. A
two-dwelling unit shall be considered as two separate single-family dwellings.
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(B) “Dwelling” includes the following:

" (i) A single-family dwelling occupied by an owner thereof as his or her principal place of
residence on the lien date.

(ii) A multiple-dwelling unit occupied By an owner thereof on the lien date as his or her
principal place of residence.

(iii) A condominium occupied by an owner thereof as his or her principal place of
residence on the lien date.

(iv) Premises occupied by the owner of shares or a membership interest in a cooperative
housing corporation, as defined in subdivision (i) of Section 61, as his or her principal place of
residence on the lien date. Each exemption allowed pursuant to this subdivision shall be
deducted from the total assessed valuation of the cooperative housing corporation. The
exemption shall be taken into account in apportioning property taxes among owners of share or
membership interests in the cooperative housing corporations so as to benefit those owners who
qualify for the exemption.

(d) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to October 20,
1991, that was damaged or destroyed by fire in a disaster, as declared by the Governor, occurring
on or after October 20, 1991, and before November 1, 1991, and that has not changed ownership
since October 20, 1991, shall not be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption
under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or
was being reconstructed by the owner.

(e) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to October 15,
2003, that was damaged or destroyed by fire or earthquake in a disaster, as declared by the
Governor, during October, November, or December 2003, and that has not changed ownership
since October 15, 2003, shall not be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption
under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or -
was being reconstructed by the owner.

(f) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to June 3, 2004,
that was damaged or destroyed by flood in a disaster, as declared by the Governor, during
June 2004, and that has not changed ownership since June 3, 2004, shall not be disqualified as a
“dwelling” or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was
temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner.

(g) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to August 11,
2004, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that
occurred in Shasta County in a disaster, as declared by the Governor, during August 2004, and
that has not changed ownership since August 11, 2004, shall not be disqualified as a “dwelling”
or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was
temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner.

. (h) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to
December 28, 2004, that was damaged or destroyed by severe rainstorms, floods, mudslides, or
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the accumulation of debris in a disaster, as declared by the Governor, during December 2004,
January 2005, February 2005, March 2005, or June 2005, and that has not changed ownership
since December 28, 2004, shall not be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption
under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or
was being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted
access to the property due to floods, mudslides, the accumulation of debris, or washed-out or
damaged roads.

(i) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to December 19,
2005, that was damaged or destroyed by severe rainstorms, floods, mudslides, or the
accumulation of debris in a disaster, as declared by the Governor in January 2006, April 2006,
May 2006, or June 2006, and that has not changed ownership since December 19, 2005, shall not
be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis
that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the
owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to
floods, mudslides, the accumulation of debris, or washed-out or damaged roads.

. (j) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to July.9, 2006,
that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that occurred in
- the County of San Bernardino, as declared by the Governor in July 2006, and that has not
changed ownership since July 9, 2006, shall not be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an
exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or
destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of
restricted access to the property due to the wildfires.

(k) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to the
commencement dates of the wildfires listed in the Governor’s proclamations of 2006 that was
- damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that occurred in the
Counties of Riverside and Ventura, and that has not changed ownership since the
commencement dates of these disasters as listed in the Governor’s proclamations of 2006 shall
not be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the
basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the
owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to the
wildfires.

(1) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to January 11,
2007, that was damaged or destroyed by severe freezing conditions, commencing January 11,
2007, and any other related casualty that occurred in the Counties of El Dorado, Fresno,
Imperial, Kern, Kings, Madera, Merced, Monterey, Riverside, San Bernardino, San Diego,
San Luis Obispo, Santa Barbara, Santa Clara, Stanislaus, Tulare, Ventura, and Yuba as a result
of a disaster as declared by the Governor, and that has not changed ownership since January 11,
2007, shall not be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption under this section
solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being
reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the
property due to severe freezing conditions.
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(m) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to June 24,
2007, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that
occurred as a result of this disaster in the County of El Dorado, as declared by the Governor in
June 2007, and that has not changed ownership since June 24, 2007, shall not be disqualified as a
“dwelling” or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was
temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily
uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to the wildfires.

(n) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to July 4, 2007,
that was damaged or destroyed by the Zaca Fire and any other related casualty that occurred as a
result of this disaster in the Counties of Santa Barbara and Ventura, as declared by the Governor
in August 2007, and that has not changed ownership since July 4, 2007, may not be denied an
exemption solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was
being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access
to the property due to the Zaca Fire.

(o) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to July 6, 2007,
that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that occurred as.a
result of this disaster in the County of Inyo, as declared by the Governor in July 2007, and that
has not changed ownership since July 6, 2007, may not be denied an exemption solely on the
basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the
owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to the
wildfires.

(p) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to the

- commencement dates of the wildfires listed in the Governor’s disaster proclamations of

September 15, 2007, and October 21, 2007, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and
any other related casualty that occurred in the Counties of Los Angeles, Orange, Riverside,

San Bernardino, San Diego, Santa Barbara, and Ventura, and that has not changed ownership
since the commencement dates of these disasters as listed in the proclamations shall not be
disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that

- the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or

was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to the wildfires.

(@) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to October 20,
2007, that was damaged or destroyed by the extremely strong and damaging winds and any other
related casualty that occurred as a result of this disaster in the County of Riverside, as declared
by the Governor in November 2007, and that has not changed ownership since October 20, 2007,
shall not be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption under this section solely on
the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by
the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to
the extremely strong and damaging winds.

(r) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to the
commencement dates of the wildfires listed in the Governor’s disaster proclamations of May,
June, or July 2008, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty

~ that occurred in the Counties of Butte, Kern, Mariposa, Mendocino, Monterey, Plumas, Santa
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Clara, Santa Cruz, Shasta, and Trinity and that has not changed ownership since the
commencement dates of these disasters as listed in the proclamations shall not be disqualified as
a “dwelling” or be denied an exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling
was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was
temporarily uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due to the wildfires.

(s) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to July 1, 2008,
that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that occurred as a
result of this disaster in the County of Santa Barbara, as declared by the Governor in July 2008,
and that has not changed ownership since July 1, 2008, may not be denied an exemption solely
on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was being reconstructed
by the owner, or was temporarlly uninhabited as a result of restricted access to the property due
to the wildfires.

(t) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to July 12, 2008,
that was damaged or destroyed by severe rainstorms, floods, landslides, or the accumulation of
debris in a disaster, as declared by the Governor, in July 2008, and that has not changed
ownership since July 12, 2008, shall not be disqualified as a “dwelling” or be denied an
exemption under this section solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or
destroyed or was being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of
restricted access to the property due to floods, landslides, the accumulation of debris, or washed-
out or damaged roads.

(@) Any dwelling that qualified for an exemption under this section prior to May 22,
2008, that was damaged or destroyed by the wildfires and any other related casualty that
occurred as a result of this disaster in the County of Humboldt, as declared by the Governor in
August 2008, and that has not changed ownership since May 22, 2008, may not be denied an
exemption solely on the basis that the dwelling was temporarily damaged or destroyed or was
being reconstructed by the owner, or was temporarily uninhabited as a result of restrlcted access
to the property due to the wildfires.

. (v) The exemption provided for in subdivision (k) of Section 3 of Article XIII of the
Constitution shall first be applied to the building, structure, or other shelter and the excess, if
any, shall be applied to any land on which it may be located.

SECTION 16. Section 17053.5 of the Revenue and Taxation Code is hereby amended to
read:

Sec. 17053.5. (a)(1) For a qualified renter, there shall be allowed a credit against his or
her “net tax,” as defined in Section 17039. The amount of the credit shall be as follows:

(A) For married couples filing joint returns, heads of household, and surviving spouses,
as defined in Section 17046, for the 2011 tax year and each tax year thereafter, the credit shall

be equal to ene-hundred-twenty-dolars($120) two hundred forty dollars (3240) if adjusted gross
income is fifty thousand dollars ($50,000) or less.
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(B) For other individuals, for the 2011 tax year and each tax year thereafter, the credit
shall be equal to sixty-delars($60) one hundred twenty dollars (3120) if adjusted gross income
is twenty-five thousand dollars ($25,000) or less.

~(2) Except as provided in subdivision (b), a husband and wife shall receive but one credit
under this section. If the husband and wife file separate returns, the credit may be taken by either
or equally divided between them, except as follows:

(A) If one spouse was a resident for the entire taxable year and the other spouse was a
nonresident for part or all of the taxable year, the resident spouse shall be allowed one-half the
credit allowed to married persons and the nonresident spouse shall be permitted one-half the
credit allowed to married persons, prorated as provided in subdivision (e).

(B) If both spouses were nonresidents for part of the taxable year, the credit allowed to
married persons shall be divided equally between them subject to the proration provided in
subdivision (e).

(b) For a husband and wife, if each spouse maintained a separate place of residence and
resided in this state during the entire taxable year, each spouse will be allowed one-half the full
credit allowed to married persons provided in subdivision (a).

(c) For purposes of this section, a “qualified renter” means an individual who satisfies
both of the following:

(1) Was a resident of this state, as defined in Section 17014.

(2) Rented and occupied premises in this state which constituted his or her principal
place of residence during at least 50 percent of the taxable year.

(d) “Qualified renter” does not include any of the following:

(1) An individual who for more than 50 percent of the taxable year rented and occupied
premises that were exempt from property taxes, except that an individual, otherwise qualified, is
deemed a qualified renter if he or she or his or her landlord pays possessory interest taxes, or the
owner of those premises makes payments in lieu of property taxes that are substantially
equivalent to property taxes paid on properties of comparable market value.

(2) An individual whose principal place of residence for more than 50 percent of the
taxable year is with another person who claimed that individual as a dependent for income tax
purposes.

(3) An individual who has been granted or whose spouse has been granted the
homeowners’ property tax exemption during the taxable year. This paragraph does not apply to
an individual whose spouse has been granted the homeowners’ property tax exemption if each
spouse maintained a separate residence for the entire taxable year.
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. () An otherwise qualified renter who is a nonresident for any portion of the taxable year
shall claim the credits set forth in subdivision (a) at the rate of one-twelfth of those credits for
each full month that individual resided within this state during the taxable year.

(f) .A person claiming the credit provided in this section shall, as part of that claim, and
under penalty of perjury, furnish that information as the Franchise Tax Board prescribes on a
form supplied by the board.

(g) The credit provided in this section shall be claimed on returns in the form as the
Franchise Tax Board may from time to time prescribe.

(h) For purposes of this section, “premises” means a house or a dwelling unit used to
provide living accommodations in a building or structure and the land incidental thereto, but
does not include land only, unless the dwelling unit is a mobilehome. The credit is not allowed
for any taxable year for the rental of land upon which a mobilehome is located if the mobilehome
has been granted a homeowners’ exemption under Section 218 in that year.

(i) This section shall become operative on January 1, 1998, and applies to any taxable
year beginning on or after January 1, 1998.

(j) For each taxable year beginning on or after January 1, 1999, the Franchise Tax Board
shall recompute the adjusted gross income amounts set forth in subdivision (a). The computation
shall be made as follows:

(1) The Department of Industrial Relations shall transmit annually to the Franchise Tax
Board the percentage change in the California Consumer Price Index for all items from June of
the prior calendar year to June of the current year, no later than August 1 of the current calendar
year.

(2) The Franchise Tax Boafd shall compute an inflation adjustment factor by adding
100 percent to the portion of the percentage change figure which is furnished pursuant to
paragraph (1) and dividing the result by 100. '

(3) The Franchise Tax Board shall multiply the amount in sﬁbparagraph (B) of
paragraph (1) of subdivision (d) for the preceding taxable year by the inflation adjustment factor
determined in paragraph (2), and round off the resulting products to the nearest one dollar ($1).

(4) In computing the amounts pursuant to this subdivision, the amounts provided in |
subparagraph (A) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a) shall be twice the amount provided in
subparagraph (B) of paragraph (1) of subdivision (a).

SECTION 17. Amendment.

The statutory provisions of this measure may be amended to further the purposes of the
initiative by a statute passed in each house by rollcall vote entered in the journal, two-thirds of
the membership concurring, and signed by the Governor. '
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SECTION 18. Severability.

The provisions of this measure are severable. If any provision of this measure or its
application is held invalid, that invalidity shall not affect other provisions or applications that can
be given effect without the invalid provision or application. :

SECTION 19. Effective Date.

This measure shall become effective on January 1, 2011.
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