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ANTITRUST 

AB 1345 (Nakano) 
Status: Vetoed, 1999 

A 1972 law places a $3 million cap on the fund reserve of the Antitrust Account and 
directs any excess funds into the General Fund.  This bill would have increased the cap 
on the fund reserve of the Antitrust Account to $6 million.  By statute, attorney fees and 
cost awards in antitrust cases are deposited in the account for use by the Attorney General 
enforcing antitrust laws. 

Current law provides that funds may only be appropriated from the account through 
the annual budget act.  This bill would have provided that funds may also be appropriated 
from the account through non-budget act legislation.  This bill would not have appropriated 
any funds. 

SB 1131 (Burton)

Status: Chapter 956, Statutes of 1999; funding vetoed


This bill provides a legislative appropriation of  $1,000,000 from the General Fund 
to support three major investigations by the Antitrust Section within the Attorney General’s 
Office:  (1) gasoline pricing, (2) the Exxon/Mobil merger, and (3) the BP/ARCO merger. 
The funding would have supported investigation costs through June 2000, with additional 
funding provided by a budget change proposal for fiscal year 2000-01. 

AB 260 (Frommer)

Status: Chapter 74, Statutes of 2001


This bill enables the Attorney General to issue interrogatories, in addition to 
subpoenas, when conducting investigations of possible violations of state or federal 
antitrust law.  This bill also makes state antitrust law consistent with federal antitrust 
laws by clarifying that the Attorney General can employ cy pres remedies in actions 
brought to represent consumers affected by antitrust violations. 

SB 1814 (Dunn)

Status: Failed passage in Assembly Business and Professions 


Committee, 2002 
This bill would have clarified that anti-competitive conspiracies currently 

forbidden by the Cartwright Act may occur between entities related to each other by 
common ownership. This bill also would have made the act of monopolization a 
violation of California antitrust law. 
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ATTORNEY GENERAL 

AB 427 (Scott)

Status: Chapter 768, Statutes of 1999


This bill provides that no state agency, officer or commissioner shall employ legal 
counsel other than that of the Attorney General in any matter in which the agency, officer 
or commissioner is interested or is a party as a result of office or official duties. 

AB 715 (Firebaugh)

Status: Chapter 626, Statutes of 2000


This bill clarifies and amends provisions delimiting the Attorney General’s role.  The 
bill repeals a provision requiring the Attorney General to prosecute and defend actions in 
which any county is a party, and it clarifies the Attorney General’s ability to employ counsel 
to represent a state agency or a state employee if the representation meets specified 
standards, and to employ counsel to recover escheated funds. 

California Rules of Court, Rule 13(b)(6) 
Status: Adopted June 1, 2000 

The Judicial Council adopted the Attorney General’s proposed rule allowing the 
Attorney General to file a friend of the court brief in any pending appeal.  Under the 
amended rule, special permission from the court is no longer required. 

AB 222 (Wiggins)

Status: Chapter 69, Statutes of 2001


This bill requires the petitioner of an appeal that involves the interpretation of the 
False Claims Act to provide the False Claims Section of the Attorney General’s Office with 
notice of the appeal to allow the department the opportunity to intervene in the appeal. 

SB 99 (Morrow)

Status: Chapter 76, Statutes of 2001


California law currently directs the Attorney General to issue written opinions to the 
Legislature or either house of the Legislature, the Governor, and other specified state 
officers and agencies.  In addition, current law states that the Attorney General shall give 
“his” written opinion to the requesting officer or agency “when required.” This bill adds any 
Member of the Legislature, the Lieutenant Governor, the Insurance Commissioner, and 
any county counsel or sheriff to the list of public officers who may seek such an opinion. 
In so doing, it deletes extraneous language in conformity with its intent to expand the list 
of authorized recipients, it  changes the pronoun “his” to “his or her,” and it changes the 
trigger for the Attorney General action from “when required” to “when requested.” 
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ATTORNEY GENERAL (continued) 

SB 1628 (Sher)

Status: Chapter 396, Statutes of 2002


Responding to a court decision disqualifying the Attorney General’s Office from 
representing a client agency, this urgency bill permits the Attorney General, in appropriate 
cases, to represent both an identified state board and another state agency in the same 
matter, if the affected board and agency consent.  If the Attorney General chooses to 
represent the state agency, the board will be represented by its inside counsel, or by 
outside counsel if the Attorney General consents as required under current law. 
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CHARITABLE TRUSTS 

SB 2015 (Sher)

Status: Chapter 475, Statutes of 2000


This bill amends the Uniform Supervision of Trustees and Fundraisers for 
Charitable Purposes Act ("Act") to grant the Attorney General additional  enforcement tools 
and resources, including: the ability to  assess late fees; the authority to suspend or revoke 
registrations; the power to enter into pre-filing agreements;  the ability to impose civil 
penalties for violations of the  Act; and the appropriation of all fines, penalties, attorneys 
fees and costs to the Attorney General for the administration and enforcement of the Act. 
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CHILD ABUSE 

AB 1447 (Granlund)

Status: Died - Senate Judiciary Committee, 1999


This bill would have made technical changes to, and clarified provisions in, the 
Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act, particularly as they related to the Child Abuse 
Central Index maintained by the Department of Justice. 

SB 1715 (Ortiz)

Status: Chapter 207, Statutes of 2000


Existing law authorizes a minor under the age of 13 years to give testimony by way 
of  closed-circuit television under specified circumstances and procedures if: (1) the minor 
is a victim of a sexual offense or (2) the minor is a victim of a violent felony.   The statute 
is operative until January 1, 2001, and on that date is repealed.  Effective January 1, 2001, 
this provision would only apply under the first circumstance, namely if the minor will testify 
regarding an alleged sexual offense committed on or with that minor.  This bill extends the 
sunset on this provision from January 1, 2001, to January 1, 2003. 

AB 2442 (Keeley)

Status: Chapter 1064, Statutes of 2002


Existing law establishes the Child Abuse and Neglect Reporting Act (CANRA), 
which requires specified persons to report to law enforcement or a child protective agency 
known or suspected instances of child abuse or neglect.  The law further requires the 
Department of Justice to maintain the Child Abuse Central Index (CACI) and to act as a 
repository of reports of child abuse and severe neglect which, following an investigation, 
are determined not to be unfounded.  This bill creates a task force for the purpose of 
reviewing the CANRA and the CACI. 

SB 1559 (Figueroa)

Status: Chapter 96, Statutes of 2002


This bill extends indefinitely the currently-operative version of the statute 
authorizing a minor to give testimony under either of two circumstances:  (1) the minor is 
a victim of a sexual offense; or (2) the minor is a victim of a violent felony. 
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CIVIL LAW - MISCELLANEOUS 

AB 2300 (Florez)

Status: Chapter 723, Statutes of 2000


This bill closes loopholes in the sale of land-based municipal  bonds issued by 
"roving" joint powers authorities. 

AB 192 (Canciamilla)

Status: Chapter 243, Statutes of 2001


This bill makes various changes to conform the state Open Meeting Act law more 
closely to the Ralph M. Brown Act, which governs open meetings of local agencies, 
including adding a definition of “meeting,” permitting a meeting of a state body to be 
conducted via teleconference under the same circumstances that such a meeting may be 
conducted under the Ralph M. Brown Act, requiring agendas be posted at each 
teleconference location, and requiring members of the public be permitted to address the 
state body directly at each such location. The bill also modernizes the references in the 
act on the use of electronic means of posting notice of a meeting.  Finally, the bill makes 
clear that even if other pending litigation was not noticed in the agenda of  a closed 
meeting, that litigation may thereafter be added to the agenda of the closed meeting and 
action taken thereon, if certain requirements are satisfied. 

SB 471 (Sher)

Status: Chapter 578, Statutes of 2001


This bill makes modest changes to improve the implementation of Proposition 65 
including requiring the notice in warning cases to include a certificate of merit; requiring 
court approval of any settlement in a private Proposition 65 action; establishing criteria for 
a court to consider assessing any civil penalty awarded under the statute; and expanding 
the existing requirements to report Proposition 65 actions to the Attorney General to cover 
all settlements entered, including those where no complaint has been filed, and other types 
of complaints in which violations of Proposition 65 are alleged. 

AB 1862 (Wyman)

Status: Died - Assembly Revenue and Taxation Committee, 2002


This bill would have authorized a 100% tax credit, capped at an undefined amount, 
for benefits paid to a qualified employee called to active military duty or service. It would 
have defined a qualified employee as one who is a member of the  California National 
Guard or a United States military reserve organization and is ordered to active duty on or 
after September 11, 2001, as a result of Operation Enduring Freedom or any successor 
military action, including homeland defense. 
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CIVIL LAW - MISCELLANEOUS (continued) 

AB 2519 (Keeley)

Status: Chapter 112, Statutes of 2002


This bill clarifies the process for dissolving nonprofit public benefit corporations (i.e., 
charities) to ensure that the corporation's plan for distributing its assets is reviewed by the 
Attorney General prior to the dissolution. 
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CIVIL PROCEDURE 

AB 36 (Steinberg)

Status: Died - Senate, 2001


This bill would have prohibited secrecy agreements between parties to litigation that 
prevent disclosure to the public or to public safety agencies information relating to 
defective products, financial fraud, unfair insurance claims practices, or  environmental 
hazards. In addition, it would have specifically made agreements that keep such 
information secret from interested regulatory agencies void and unenforceable. 

AB 732 (Wayne)

Status: Chapter 153, Statutes of 2001


This bill clarifies that public enforcement actions brought by the Attorney General, 
a district attorney or city attorney, are exempt from monetary sanctions arising under Code 
of Civil Procedure Section 998 settlement offers. 

SB 11 (Escutia)

Status: Died - Assembly Third Reading, 2002


This bill would have prohibited secrecy agreements between parties to litigation that 
prevent disclosure to the public or to public safety agencies information relating to 
defective products financial fraud unfair insurance claims practices or environmental 
hazards. In addition, it would have specifically made agreements that keep such 
information secret from interested regulatory agencies void and unenforceable. 
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CLAIMS AGAINST THE STATE 

SB 465 (Appropriations)

Status: Chapter 933, Statutes of 1999


This bill appropriates $1,787,000 from the General Fund to the Attorney General 
for payment of two settlements in cases against the state. 

SB 464 (Appropriations)

Status: Chapter 28, Statutes of 2000


This bill appropriates $18.5 million plus interest from the General Fund to the 
Attorney General to settle two cases against the state. 

SB 1437 (Johnston)

Status: Chapter 166, Statutes of 2000


This bill appropriates $3,545,000 from the General Fund and the Motor Vehicle 
Account in the State Transportation Fund to the Attorney General to pay several claims 
against the state. 

AB 1738 (Assembly Budget Committee) 
Status: Chapter 258, Statutes of 2001 

This bill appropriates $9.2 million from the General Fund to the Attorney General 
to pay seven different claims against the state. 

SB 1333 (Alpert)

Status: Chapter 583, Statutes of 2002


This bill appropriates $1,360,702.74 from the General Fund to the Attorney General 
to pay two claims against the State. 

SB 1334 (Alpert)

Status: Withdrawn, 2002


This bill would have appropriated $1,000,000 from the General Fund to the Attorney 
General to pay judgments and settlement claims in accordance with an unspecified 
schedule. 
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CIVIL RIGHTS 

AB 1670 (Committee on Judiciary) 
Status: Chapter 591, Statutes of 1999 

This bill, which enacts the California Civil Rights Amendments of 1999,  extends the 
protection of California Civil Rights Act laws to reach violations of another's civil rights 
when the violator perceives the victim to be a member of a protected class; prohibits 
discrimination based on one's association with members of a protected class; clarifies that 
existing law prohibits harassment in connection with housing discrimination; prohibits 
genetic testing as a condition of employment;  requires reasonable accommodations to a 
female employee during pregnancy;  increases the amount of non-pecuniary damages that 
may be awarded by the Commission on Fair Employment and Housing to $150,000 from 
$50,000 in employment discrimination cases to encourage use of Fair Employment and 
Housing Act (FEHA); extends the protections of FEHA to independent contractors; 
authorizes an action to enjoin discrimination by state-funded programs and agencies; 
prohibits a “refusal to contract” on the basis of existing protected class characteristics; and 
authorizes a court to require employers to provide training on FEHA requirements. 

AB 2719 (Wesson)

Status: Chapter 98, Statutes of 2000


This bill allows the Attorney General, a district attorney or a city attorney to recover 
a $25,000 civil penalty in successful enforcement actions under the Ralph Act (Civil Code 
section 51.7), which forbids violence or intimidation motivated by the victim’s race, religion, 
or membership in other protected classes. In addition, the bill declares that a person suing 
under the Bane Civil Rights Act (Civil Code section 52.1) for a violation of the person's 
constitutional rights, need not prove that he or she is a member of a protected class. 

AB 587 (Firebaugh)

Status: Chapter 261, Statutes of 2001


This bill allows the Attorney General, district attorney or city attorney prosecuting 
enforcement actions under the Bane Civil Rights Act to seek a civil penalty of $25,000 in 
addition to injunctive and equitable relief available under current law.  The $25,000 would 
be awarded to the person whose rights were violated, and assessed against each person 
who violated those rights. 

The bill also increases from $1,000 to $4,000 the minimum penalty for a violation 
of another's civil rights to be free from discrimination under the Unruh Civil Rights Act and 
the Gender Tax Repeal Act. 
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CIVIL RIGHTS (continued) 

AB 698 (Wesson) 
Status: Vetoed, 2001 

This bill would have statutorily created an Office of Immigrant Assistance within the 
Department of Justice to disseminate information and provide other assistance specifically 
to resident immigrants concerning their rights protected under state laws that provide 
protection for consumers, redress for victims of employment or housing discrimination, and 
redress for victims of civil rights violations. 

AB 1999 (Correa)

Status: Chapter 705, Statutes of 2002


This bill authorizes the Attorney General or a local prosecutor to seek civil penalties 
of up to $100,000 for each violation of the Immigration Consultants Act (ICA); mandates 
the court to impose civil penalties for each violation of the ICA; and directs the distribution 
of civil penalties collected for an action brought by public officials. In action brought by the 
Attorney General, one-half of the collected amount will go to the General Fund, and the 
other half will go to the county where the judgement is entered. The bill also expressly 
authorizes public officials to bring a civil action for injunctive relief and restitution for 
violations of the ICA. 

AB 2524 (Goldberg)

Status: Chapter 244, Statutes of 2002


This bill requires any party to an appeal in  state court alleging violations of 
specified civil rights statutes to serve a copy of the party's petition and brief or responsive 
brief, on the State Attorney General so the Attorney General may participate as an 
intervener or amicus curiae.  
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CONSUMER LAW 

AB 969 (Papan)

Status: Chapter 319, Statutes of 1999


This bill incorporates, by reference, selected provisions from the Federal Debt 
Collections Act, thereby harmonizing federal and state debt collection standards and 
remedies.  The bill  promotes consistent federal and state standards which will facilitate 
compliance and enforcement and provide a level playing field for all engaged in debt 
collection activity. 

AB 1231 (Machado)

Status: Chapter 907, Statutes of 1999


This bill prevents the misleading use of coupons including the specific deceptive 
practice of describing coupons to be "free," a "gift," or a "prize" when they are not.  The bill 
generally prohibits untrue and misleading coupons.  The bill also prohibits a particular type 
of deceptive practice involving sellers who make most of their sales by offering phony 
discounts in the form of coupons described as "free" or as a "gift" or "prize." The "free," 
"gift," or "prize" description is misleading because the consumer must pay money to get 
or use the so-called “free”, “gift”, or “prize” coupon, and the coupon does not represent a 
real discount from the merchant's regular selling price since most of the merchant's sales 
are made in conjunction with phony "free" discount coupons.  

AB 1290 (Davis)

Status: Chapter 448, Statutes of 1999


The so-called “lemon law” legislation, first enacted more than a decade ago, creates 
a presumption that a reasonable number of attempts have been made to conform a new 
motor vehicle to the applicable express warranties if, within one year from delivery to the 
buyer or 12,000 miles on the odometer, whichever occurs first, either (1) the 
nonconformity, as defined, has been subject to repair four or more times by the 
manufacturer or its agents and the buyer had provided specified notice to the manufacturer 
or (2) the vehicle is out of service by reason of repair of nonconformities by the 
manufacturer or its agents for a prescribed period.  This bill  extends the applicability of 
the presumption to 18,000 miles or 18 months from delivery, whichever occurs first, 
conforming the statutory presumption more closely to commonly found warranty periods 
for new motor vehicles. 
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CONSUMER LAW (continued) 

SB 988 (Figueroa)

Status: Died - Senate, 2000


This bill would have required the Attorney General to maintain a “do not call” list, 
containing the telephone numbers of telephone subscribers who do not wish to receive 
unwanted and uninvited telephone solicitations.  It would have prohibited a telephonic 
solicitor from calling any telephone number on the current “do not call” list to, among other 
things, seek to sell or lease any consumer goods or services. 

AB 1138 (Strom-Martin)

Status: Died - Assembly Conference, 2000


This bill would have prohibited all of the following:  persons from engaging in the 
unauthorized practice of law in connection with any estate planning service; persons from 
soliciting any member of the public to purchase any estate planning service from a person 
whose  performance of the service would violate this legislation; and persons (and their 
agents) who solicit or perform estate planning services in violation of this legislation, from 
soliciting or selling any investment to anyone who was solicited to purchase or who
purchased that estate planning service. 

 

AB 1816 (Wayne)

Status: Chapter 185, Statutes of 2000


This bill prohibits the production, advertising, offering for sale, selling, distributing, 
or transferring for use in this state of any simulated check except for specified cases.  In 
addition, it revises the definition of simulated check to  also include any document that is 
not in fact currency or a  check or other negotiable instrument but that, because of its 
appearance, has the tendency to mislead a person viewing it into believing that the item 
represents a prize, gift or monetary benefit that the recipient has won or is entitled to or 
guaranteed to receive, or represents an actual check or item of value that can be claimed 
or redeemed. 

AB 2725 (Wesson) 
Status: Vetoed, 2000 

This bill would have regulated the advertising for, and the conduct of, "going out 
of business" sales by limiting the duration of a sale to 90 days from the date it is first 
advertised and requiring specified disclosures. 
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CONSUMER LAW (continued) 

SB 1359 (Karnette) 
Status: Vetoed, 2000 

This bill would have deleted existing exemptions under the Unfair Practices Act 
applicable to nonprofit charitable organizations and to persons selling intangibles or 
newspapers, thus requiring these organizations and individuals to make certain 
disclosures when soliciting in-home sales as currently required of all individuals who solicit 
sales at the residence of a prospective buyer.  The bill also would have expanded 
disclosure requirements to all in-home solicitations  for sales or orders rather than only in-
home solicitations for sales or orders for goods or services, as currently required. 

AB 268 (Wayne)

Status: Chapter 624, Statutes of 2001


This bill makes changes to the existing rules governing the sale of structured 
settlements by improving disclosures, adding new oversight procedures, clarifying 
definitions, and establishing a court review process. 

SB 1194 (Romero)

Status: Chapter 304, Statutes of 2001


This bill provides the Attorney General and public prosecutors additional remedies 
to redress the substantial harm that may occur in consumer fraud cases involving the 
unauthorized practice of law.  Specifically, the bill authorizes the court to award all of the 
following in a law enforcement action filed by public prosecutors: actual damages and 
equitable relief to victims; the amount of penalties and tax liabilities incurred in connection 
with the transfer of assets to pay for anything sold during the course of the unauthorized 
practice of law; attorney’s fees incurred by victims to rectify legal errors; prejudgment 
interest; attorney’s fees and costs incurred by the prosecutors in the action; and, where 
appropriate, exemplary damages. 

AB 2578 (Shelley)

Status: Chapter 1097, Statutes of 2002


This bill would have provided that a contract for the purchase of a product or service 
that is made in response to a solicitation by mail, including electronic mail, and that is 
primarily for personal, family, or household use is unlawful if a person has not expressly 
provided, at the time of the purchase, authorization, and information sufficient for payment. 

Cosponsored with Consumers Union. 
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CONSUMER LAW (continued) 

AB 2775 (Steinberg)

Status: Died - Senate Judiciary Committee, 2002


This bill would have provided that a contract for the purchase of a product or service 
that is made in connection with a telephone solicitation, regardless of which party initiated 
telephonic contact, and is primarily for personal, family, or household use is unlawful if a 
person has not expressly provided, at the time of the purchase, authorization, and 
information sufficient for payment. 

Cosponsored with Consumers Union. 

SB 1560 (Figueroa)

Status: Chapter 698, Statutes of 2002 (Chaptered out by AB 3000)


This bill would have made amendments to the "do not call" legislation passed last 
year. First, it would have explicitly prohibited the sale or purchase of the "do not call" list.
 Second, it would have clarified the type of entities that may obtain the "do not call" list for 
free. 

-15
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CONTROLLED SUBSTANCES 

AB 2106 (Davis)

Status: Died - Assembly Appropriations Committee, 2000


This bill would have made the possession of gamma butyrolactone (GBL), or the 
salts or isomers of GBL or gamma-hydroxybutyrate (GHB), with the intent to manufacture 
GHB, a felony. 

AB 154 (La Suer)

Status: Chapter 13, Statutes of 2002


Existing law  provides that producers and users of specified chemicals, which have 
limited commercial use but which also may be used in the illegal production of controlled 
substances, must obtain a permit from the Department of Justice.  As substances are 
added to this section, affected  individuals and businesses must be in compliance with the 
law by the effective date imposed by the legislation.  This bill provides the Department of 
Justice with the authority to extend, for a limited time, the period of time necessary for 
affected entities to be  properly noticed of changes in the law and sufficient time for the 
Department of Justice to process those applications.  

AB 2589 (Cardoza)

Status: Chapter 443, Statutes of 2002


This bill modifies and clarifies provisions governing the disposal and destruction of 
hazardous chemicals, under controlled substance provisions of the law, by law 
enforcement agencies to reflect the agencies' current practices. It explicitly specifies that 
a hazardous chemical container, or any contaminated item, is subject to the disposal 
provisions applicable to law enforcement agencies.  It also requires photographs of the 
containers and contaminated items to be taken before they are destroyed, and it requires, 
with respect to the destruction of a suspected controlled substance, in combination with 
a hazardous chemical involving the issuance of a search warrant, an affidavit to be filed 
in the issuing court that contains size and volume-related information. 

SB 1943 (Perata)

Status: Died - Senate Health and Human Services Committee, 2002


The Controlled Substance Utilization Review and Evaluation System (CURES) is 
a database that electronically monitors the prescribing and dispensing of Schedule II 
controlled substances in California.  It was established to assist law enforcement and 
regulatory agencies in their efforts to control the diversion and resultant abuse of Schedule 
II drugs. CURES initially was implemented as a three-year pilot project, which is due to 
sunset on June 30, 2003. This bill would have made CURES permanent. 
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CRIME PREVENTION 

AB 235 (Kuehl)

Status: Died - Assembly Inactive File, 1999


This bill would have created the California Youth Violence Prevention Authority, with 
duties and responsibilities related to the prevention of youth violence, including the 
production of a statewide plan for the coordination of youth violence prevention programs 
and resources, for presentation to the Legislature by January 1, 2001. 

AB 1602 (Machado) 
Status: Vetoed, 2000 

In June 2000, a task force established by the Attorney General and the Superintendent 
of Public Instruction for the purpose of developing recommendations on how to strengthen the 
partnership between schools and law enforcement to assure safe schools issued its final report. 
This bill would have implemented one of the  recommendations of that report by strengthening 
the ability of the Attorney General and State Superintendent of Public Instruction’s School/Law 
Enforcement Partnership Cadre to provide training, resources and technical assistance to 
California schools. 

AB 1840 (Bates)

Status: Chapter 399, Statutes of 2000


This bill requires an additional $10 fee from individuals convicted of vandalism and 
other specified crimes.  The money collected is used by the local police, sheriff’s, and 
probation departments in the area where the crime occurred exclusively on crime 
prevention programs. 

SB 1580 (Alpert)

Status: Died - Assembly Education Committee, 2000


Existing law establishes the School Safety and Violence Prevention Strategy 
Program to be administered by the Superintendent of Public Instruction. This bill would 
have required the program to be administered by the Superintendent of Public Instruction 
and the Attorney General.  It would have expanded to grade 12 the intent of the 
Legislature that public schools with kindergarten through grade 7 have access to 
supplemental resources to establish programs and strategies that promote school safety 
and emphasize violence prevention among children and youth in the public schools.  It 
also would have authorized both school districts and county offices of education to apply 
for grants to be used in schools serving kindergarten through grade 12 to promote school 
safety and violence prevention among children and youth. 
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CRIME PREVENTION (continued) 

SB 1831 (Burton) 
Status: Vetoed, 2000 

This bill would have established the School Safety Academy Pilot Project, to be 
administered by the Department of Justice, whereby school safety academies would 
receive funding from the Department of Justice to develop and implement integrated, 
comprehensive school safety training for those responsible for school safety and school 
community violence prevention.  It would have appropriated $825,000 to the Department 
of Justice to implement the pilot project for three years. 

SB 1850 (Costa)

Status: Died - Senate Appropriations Committee, 2000


This bill would have established the Juvenile Justice Outreach and Crime 
Prevention Program, to be administered by the Department of Justice for the purpose of 
assisting local agencies in developing comprehensive juvenile delinquency prevention and 
intervention strategies.  The program would have been a coordinated effort integrating 
local law enforcement, probation agencies, public health, community-based organizations, 
and schools.  This bill would have appropriated $26 million from the General Fund to the 
Department of Justice. 

AB 355 (Havice)

Status: Chapter 120, Statutes of 2001


This bill requires the Commission on Peace Officer Standards and Training (POST) 
to develop a training course for peace officers who are assigned as school resource 
officers and requires these individuals to take the course. 

SB 131 (Escutia)

Status: Died - Senate, 2001


This bill would have enacted the California Safe From the Start Partnership Program 
administered by the Department of Justice, in consultation with the Department of Health 
Services.  The program would have provided five-year annual grants to local law 
enforcement agencies for programs aimed at reducing the number of children who are 
witness to, or victims of, violence.  This bill would have continuously appropriated $3.3 
million from the General Fund each fiscal year. 
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CRIMINAL HISTORY 

AB 1115 (Strom-Martin)

Status: Chapter 78 Statutes of 1999


This bill provide the authority for the Department of Justice to process all criminal 
offender record information requests from school districts, employers or human resource 
agencies, for school volunteers, pursuant to specified procedures. 

AB 2665 (Ackerman)

Status: Chapter 972, Statutes of 2000


This bill fixes a loophole in the dissemination of criminal offender record information. 
Certain felonies and serious misdemeanors, including sex offenses, are reported to 
prospective agencies or employers about people who apply for positions with supervisory 
or disciplinary powers over children or who provide domestic or personal care of the 
elderly or disabled, if the offense occurred within the past 10 years.  This bill extends the 
reporting time to 10 years exclusive of any time the person has been incarcerated.  Thus, 
a person who is convicted of a sex offense and is sentenced to eight years in prison will 
begin his or her 10-year “washout” period, only after release from prison. 

SB 900 (Ortiz)

Status: Chapter 627, Statutes of 2002


As the statutorily mandated repository for criminal history records, the Department 
of Justice provides criminal offender record information to authorized agencies to facilitate 
their background clearances of potential licensees or employees. This bill consolidates the 
number and type of dissemination criteria utilized by Department of Justice for 
employment, licensing and certification purposes.  It reduces the number of dissemination 
criteria from nine to six, and it makes clear the dissemination criteria to be used in each 
instance. 
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CRIMINAL HISTORY (continued) 

AB 879 (Keeley)

Status: Chapter 986, Statutes of 2002


Current law allows a county, upon adoption of a resolution by the county board of 
supervisors, to assess an additional $1 to vehicle registration fees and an additional $2 
to commercial vehicle registration fees for vehicles registered within the county to 
purchase Cal-ID equipment and related infrastructure, such as Automated Fingerprint 
Identification System matchers and live scan devices, so as to enhance the capacity of 
local law enforcement to provide automated mobile and fixed location fingerprint 
identification services.  Currently, 33 (57%) of California’s 58 counties use the service fees 
generated pursuant to this program. 

This bill allows fee collection until January 1, 2006.  The bill requires every county 
collecting the fee to issue a fiscal year-end report to the Controller, and it provides for the 
suspension of the fee for failure to issue a timely report. 

Co-sponsored with California State Sheriffs’ Association. 

AB 2659 (Runner)

Status: Chapter 623, Statutes of 2002


This bill establishes a Department of Justice certification program for persons who 
roll applicant fingerprint impressions for employment, licensing or certification purposes. 
Effective January 1, 2004, Department of Justice will be prohibited from accepting 
applicant fingerprint impressions that were not rolled by a certified individual.  An individual 
may not be certified if he or she has been convicted or becomes convicted of a felony or 
an offense involving moral turpitude, dishonesty or fraud. 
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CRIMINAL LAW - MISCELLANEOUS 

SB 555 (Karnette)

Status: Chapter 518, Statutes of 1999


This bill updates and clarifies the arson registration statutes. Specifically, the bill 
clarifies existing law by specifying that persons convicted of aggravated arson must 
register; clarifies existing law by stating that registration as an arson offender is a life-long 
requirement for a person convicted after November 30, 1994, and a five-year duty for a 
person convicted between January 1, 1985 and November 29, 1994 and ordered to do so 
by the court; shortens the period of time from 30 to 14 days that a person convicted of 
arson must register with law enforcement after entering a city, county, or college campus; 
simplifies existing law by stating that a juvenile committed to the California Youth Authority 
for arson must register until he or she is 25 years old or until the record is sealed, 
whichever occurs first; provides that the probation department, rather than the court, has 
the duty to inform a defendant released on probation of his or her duty to register as an 
arson offender; provides that a person convicted of a misdemeanor may be relieved of the 
duty to register if he or she successfully petitions the court to dismiss a complaint following 
the successful completion of probation; and reinstates for five years the factor in 
aggravation of $5 million damages for the offense of aggravated arson, which had expired 
on January 1, 1999. 

SB 1282 (Lewis)

Status: Chapter 854, Statutes of 1999


This bill clarifies that the penalty enhancement for hit-and-run resulting in death or 
serious injury applies when the injury results from the accident, not after leaving the scene 
of the accident.  The bill also provides that documents sent electronically by the 
Department of Justice to the Department of Motor Vehicles regarding a license suspension 
are admissible in Department of Motor Vehicles administrative hearings. 

Cosponsored with the California District Attorneys Association. 

AB 1808 (Wayne)

Status: Chapter 689, Statutes of 2000


Under current law, a defendant who commits two entirely separate crimes with an 
enhancement for using a deadly weapon on each can receive no punishment at all for the 
weapon enhancement on one of those crimes.  This bill corrects this problem by 
eliminating the consecutive sentence enhancement limitation. 

Cosponsored with the California District Attorneys Association. 

-21
-



CRIMINAL LAW - MISCELLANEOUS (continued) 

SB 578 (Figueroa)

Status: Chapter 130, Statutes of 2001


This bill clarifies the definition of a flechette dart, which is a dart capable of being 
fired from a gun. 

SB 1151 (Margett)

Status: Chapter 48, Statutes of 2001


This bill eliminates the rule that automatically stays trial court orders in certain child 
custody cases when the order directs that the child be returned to another state or country 
that has jurisdiction over the custody dispute.  It allows, but does not require, a stay of trial 
court orders when an appeal is filed in interstate and international child custody disputes. 
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CRIMINAL PROCEDURE 

AB 154 (Cunneen)

Status: Chapter 363, Statutes of 1999


This bill requires a motion to recuse a district attorney to include affidavits by 
witnesses and to require the judge to review those affidavits before determining whether 
or not there should be an evidentiary hearing on the motion.  It authorizes the district 
attorney or the Attorney General to file affidavits in opposition.  It prohibits bringing a 
motion for recusal in the trial court if it was brought at the preliminary hearing, unless it is 
based on facts that were raised or could have been raised at the time of the original 
motion. 

SB 786 (Schiff)

Status: Chapter 350, Statutes of 1999


This bill clarifies that the issue of whether or not a defendant was convicted of a 
prior offense is to be determined by the elements of the crime, rather than a reference to 
the section in which the crime was previously defined. 

Cosponsored with the California District Attorneys Association. 

AB 2567 (Jackson)

Status: Chapter 242, Statutes of 2000


This bill requires that before a defendant, defense attorney, or prosecution attorney 
may discuss a verdict with a juror, the juror must be informed of the identity of the case, 
the party that the person represents, the subject of the interview, the absolute right of the 
juror to discuss or not discuss the deliberation or verdict with any person, and the right of 
the juror to review and have a copy of any declaration filed with the court. 
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DEATH PENALTY 

SB 686 (Dunn)

Status: Died - Senate, 1999


This bill would have authorized the Governor to extend a warrant of execution by 
executive order at any time before the expiration of the warrant and upon the request of 
the district attorney of the county of conviction, the Attorney General, or the Warden of the 
California State Prison at San Quentin.  The reason for this bill was to allow the Governor 
to extend the 24-hour warrant period in situations where a temporary restraining order or 
other stay has been issued and can be quickly vacated but not before the warrant period 
expires.  Absent this authority, any stay of execution must result in a delay of at least 40 
days. 
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D N A


SB 654 (Schiff)

Status: Chapter 475, Statutes of 1999


  The Forensic Identification Data Base and Data Bank Act of 1998 requires the 
Department of Justice to manage and administer the state’s DNA data base and data bank 
program for the collection and analysis of blood, saliva, thumbprint, and palmprint 
specimens from a defined class of felony sex and violent offenders.  This bill makes 
technical amendments to the Act to clarify the crimes subject to data bank collection and 
the specimens required; ensure the specimens are ordered and taken before the 
offender’s release; clarify laboratory certification requirements; ensure that discovery 
complies with Penal Code provisions so as to protect confidential information; clarify 
inconsistent language regarding coordination with the national data bank; and coordinate 
cross-references to other Penal Code sections. 

AB 2814 (Machado)

Status: Chapter 823, Statutes of 2000


This bill expands the use of DNA evidence in criminal cases by deleting a statutory 
prohibition on the comparison of DNA samples from a suspect with DNA from unsolved 
crimes for he or she is not the suspect.  It thus permits DNA samples of specified criminal 
suspects who have been charged by information or indictment to be compared against the 
DNA evidence of all unsolved crimes.  It requires the sample to be purged two years from 
the date of the filing of the information or indictment or when the suspect is acquitted or 
charges are dropped. 

AB 453 (Correa)

Status: Chapter 482, Statutes of 2001


This bill allows a forensic scientist required to handle or perform DNA or other 
forensic analysis within the scope of his or her duties who comes into contact with blood 
or bodily fluid to have the blood or bodily fluid tested for HIV and entitles that person to 
test results. 
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D N A (continued) 

AB 673 (Migden)

Status: Chapter 906, Statutes of 2001


Existing law requires various criminal offenders to provide DNA samples to the 
Department of Justice for inclusion in the DNA and Forensic Identification Data Base to 
assist federal, state, and local law enforcement agencies in the detection and prosecution 
of people responsible for sex offenses and other violent crimes. This bill expands the list 
of offenses that qualify for inclusion in the data bank to include four additional crimes: 
residential burglary, first degree robbery, arson and carjacking. 

SB 824 (Poochigian)

Status: Chapter 477, Statutes of 2001


This bill provides that the Department of Justice, the California State University, and 
upon agreement by the Regents, the University of California, will work together to enhance 
collaborative opportunities for DNA training of university students, graduates, and existing 
employees of crime laboratories.  It further provides that, through its California 
Criminalistics Institute, the Department of Justice will develop and create an internship 
program for graduate-level students designed to prepare students to meet national 
standards for DNA analysis, as specified.  The provisions of the bill may be implemented 
only to the extent that funds are provided for their purposes in the annual Budget Act. 
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE 

AB 825 (Keeley)

Status: Chapter 661, Statutes of 1999


The Department of Justice is statutorily mandated to maintain the Domestic 
Violence Restraining Order System, which is accessible by local law enforcement to 
determine whether there are existing or previously-issued restraining orders or protective 
orders against a person as to whom a new order is sought.  Prior to this bill, standardized 
forms for restraining orders were not required and, consequently, information transmitted 
to the Department of Justice may have been incomplete or inaccurate.  Examples of 
information that often was absent or erroneous include the restrained person’s physical 
description, his or her date of birth, and whether he or she is prohibited from purchasing 
or possessing firearms. 
The bill requires that specified restraining orders and protective orders be on forms 
promulgated by the Judicial Council. 

SB 1425 (Figueroa)

Status: Died - Assembly Appropriations Committee, 2000


This bill would have required the Department of Justice, in collaboration with the 
Department of Health Services, to establish a uniform approach for providing immediate 
assistance to victims of domestic violence and for collecting forensic evidence concerning 
domestic violence crimes.  It would have required, in any case in which a medical 
professional determines that a patient's injuries are a result of  domestic violence and 
additional supportive services or follow-up or a forensic examination is desired by the 
provider and the patient, that the medical professional call both a victim advocate and law 
enforcement.  If the patient consented to a forensic examination, and law enforcement 
agreed it would be advantageous to building their case, a forensic examination would have 
occurred according to the established protocol. It also would have provided that a 
standardized form for the collection of forensic evidence in domestic violence cases be 
developed and required. 
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DOMESTIC VIOLENCE (continued) 

SB 1627 (Kuehl)

Status: Chapter 265, Statutes of 2002


Under current law, the Department of Justice must be notified immediately upon the 
issuance of a specified protective order or restraining order, including the contents of the 
order and whether it was served on the respondent.  The information must be provided 
electronically through the California Law Enforcement Telecommunications System 
(CLETS).  The Department maintains the information in the Domestic Violence Restraining 
Order System (DVROS), which is accessible to court and law enforcement personnel. At 
the present time, most California courts do not have the ability to transmit the required 
information via CLETS, and in the majority of cases, the Department is not notified that 
orders entered into DVROS have been served on the respondent.  In the absence of 
evidence that a protective order or restraining order was served on the respondent, a law 
enforcement officer may not arrest the respondent for an apparent violation. 

This bill requires a law enforcement officer who serves a protective order to submit 
the proof of service directly into DVROS.  It also requires the court to transmit a copy of 
the proof to a local law enforcement agency within one business day of receipt, if the 
person who served the order is not a law enforcement officer, and the court is unable to 
submit the proof of service directly into the system. 

SB 1722 (Escutia)

Status: Died - Senate Appropriations Committee, 2002


This bill would have required a domestic violence incident report prepared by law 
enforcement to include the name and age of any child who was, or who was reasonable 
likely to have been, a witness to the reported act of  domestic  violence. 
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ELDER ABUSE 

AB 1499 (Lowenthal)

Status: Chapter 414, Statutes of 1999


This bill ensures that all mandated reporters who care for persons in elder care 
facilities are well informed of their responsibilities in recognizing and reporting elder 
abuse. It requires long-term health care facilities and other specified facilities that care 
for the elderly to provide training to recognize and report elder and dependent adult abuse; 
requires the Department of Justice, in cooperation with the State Department of Health 
Services and State Department of Social Services, to develop a minimal core-training 
program; and imposes mechanisms to ensure compliance with these mandates. 

AB 1891 (Lowenthal)

Status: Chapter 186, Statutes of 2000


 Existing law provides that a criminal defendant or the prosecution may have 
witnesses examined conditionally for specified reasons, including a situation in which the 
witness is sick or infirm.  This bill permits, as well, the conditional examination of a witness 
who is  70 years of age or older or a "dependent adult." 

SB 1551 (Dunn)

Status: Chapter 448, Statutes of 2000


This bill promotes and enhances the effectiveness of family councils in skilled 
nursing home facilities by strengthening the rights of family councils to meet and provide 
notice of those meetings, and ensuring a facility's cooperation.  Specifically, it provides 
that the family council must be allowed to meet at least once a month and prohibits a 
facility from limiting the right of family council members to meet independently with persons 
from outside the facility during non-working hours.  It requires a facility to: (1) provide a 
designated staff person to assist and respond to written requests that result from family 
council meetings; (2) consider the views and act upon the grievances and 
recommendations of a family council concerning proposed policy and operational 
decisions affecting resident care and life in the facility; (3) respond in writing to written 
requests or concerns of the family council, within 10 working days; and (4) provide notice 
of the family council meetings, and inform family members or representatives of new 
residents of the existence of the family council when a family council exists. It also it 
prohibits a facility from willful interference in the formation, maintenance or promotion of 
a family council. 
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ELDER ABUSE (continued) 

SB 1804 (Escutia) 
Status: Vetoed, 2002 

Current law requires the Department of Health Services to perform a background 
check of specified personnel working in intermediate care facilities.  The law further 
requires the Department to deny a license if the background check reveals the applicant 
has been convicted of specified offenses, and it permits the Department to deny a license 
if the applicant has been convicted of other offenses.  This bill would have applied virtually 
the same background check requirement to all personnel working in an intermediate care 
facility and to all personnel working in a skilled nursing facility, with two exceptions: 
licensed or certified applicants who have already undergone a criminal background check 
as part of the process of licensure or certification; and present employees.  The bill also 
would have prescribed notice, appeal, and hearing procedures subsequent to the 
Department's denial of an application for licensure or renewal. 
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EMPLOYMENT LAW 

AB 1127 (Steinberg)

Status: Chapter 615, Statutes of 1999


This bill: (1)  extends the time within which any person who believes he or she has 
been discharged or otherwise discriminated against in violation of  the Labor Code under 
the jurisdiction of the Labor Commissioner, may file a complaint with the Division of Labor 
Standards Enforcement; (2)  provides that the issuance of, or failure to issue, a citation by 
the Division of Occupational Safety may be considered or admitted into evidence in a 
personal injury or wrongful death action as between an employee and his or her employer; 
(3) expands the circumstances under which the Division must investigate a complaint that 
an employee’s employment or place of employment is not safe; (4)  increases the 
maximum fine that can be imposed for a serious safety violation, as defined; (5)  increases 
the length of incarceration and the monetary penalties that can be imposed for a willful or 
repeated violation of certain employee safety standards that cause death to any employee, 
or cause permanent or prolonged impairment of the body of any employee; (6)  authorizes 
a court to impose a fine in an amount less than certain minimums specified in the bill if the 
court finds it is in the interest of justice to do; and (7) permits civil penalties to be assessed 
against employers that are governmental agencies for violations of certain employee 
safety standards, and requires those penalties to be deposited into the Workplace Health 
and Safety Revolving Fund and refunded or used for specified purposes. 
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FIREARMS


AB 403 (Romero)

Status: Chapter 1022, Statutes of 1999; funding vetoed


This bill appropriates $200,000 from the General Fund to the Department of Justice 
for training local law enforcement on the enforcement of firearms laws at gun shows. 

AB 491 (Scott)

Status: Chapter 571, Statutes of 1999


This bill makes the possession of a concealed or loaded firearm an alternate 
misdemeanor/felony if both of the following conditions are met: both the firearm and 
unexpended ammunition are either in the immediate possession of the person or readily 
accessible; and the person is not listed with the Department of Justice as the registered 
owner of the firearm. 

AB 1587 (Scott)

Status: Chapter 578, Statutes of 1999


This bill reinstates the Department of Justice’s ability to deny the purchase or 
transfer of firearms to individuals who have been demonstrated to be a danger to 
themselves or others as a result of  mental health disabilities.  The need for this legislation 
stems from a court ruling that individuals who had suffered from such disabilities were not 
afforded a hearing to challenge their prohibition from purchasing or possessing firearms. 
The bill provides these individuals the ability to request a hearing for the purpose of 
attempting to demonstrate they can safely control firearms in spite of their mental health 
disabilities. 

AB 1097 (Romero)

Status: Died - Senate Appropriations Committee, 2000


This bill would have established within the Department of Justice a Firearm Law 
Enforcement Unit for the purpose of investigating gun law violations and assisting local law 
enforcement agencies in the gathering of evidence and in the prosecution by local 
government of gun law violations. 

AB 32 (Scott)

Status: Died - Senate Public Safety Committee, 2000


This bill would have required a facility admitting a person on a 72-hour psychiatric 
evaluation hold to submit a report for inclusion in the Department of Justice Automated 
Firearms System for each person subject to a hold who was admitted to the facility during 
the period between May 1, 1997 and February 1, 2000. The bill also would have required 
the Department of Justice to make a good faith effort to notify people admitted to a facility 
during that time period of their ineligibility to own, possess, or control a firearm. 
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FIREARMS (continued) 

AB 1961 (Machado)

Status: Chapter 668, Statutes of 2000


This bill expands the definition of a machine gun to include any weapon that can 
readily be restored to shoot, automatically, more than one shot. It includes in that definition 
any combination of parts from which a machine gun can be assembled if those parts are 
in the possession and control of the person. 

AB 2536 (Jackson)

Status: Chapter 479, Statutes of 2000


This bill requires the Department of Justice to produce public service 
announcements in both English and Spanish regarding recent changes in firearm laws and 
a gun owner's responsibilities regarding safe storage of a firearm. 

SB 510 (Scott)

Status: Chapter 608, Statutes of 2002


This bill prohibits any person in California from manufacturing or importing for sale, 
or any licensed firearms dealer from selling or transferring, a semiautomatic pistol after 
January 1, 2003 if it does not have a chamber load indicator and if it has a detachable 
magazine.  This bill makes a first violation of these provisions punishable by a fine of 
$1,000, a second violation punishable by a fine of $1,000 and a 30-day suspension of the 
license to manufacture or sell guns, and a third violation punishable by permanent 
revocation of the license to manufacture or sell guns in California.  It provides for specified 
exemptions for law enforcement, private party transfers, entertainment props, and curios 
and relics. 

SB 626 (Perata)

Status: Chapter 937, Statutes of 2001


Current law prohibits the sale of ammunition magazines that can hold more than 10 
rounds. This bill clarifies that active law enforcement personnel are exempt from this 
restriction.  It also clarifies that certain tubular magazines on lever-action weapons are 
exempt from the large capacity magazine restriction and provides for a peace officer 
assault weapon purchase with agency approval. 

SB 950 (Brulte)

Status: Chapter 944, Statutes of 2001


Current law prohibits convicted felons and other specified persons from possessing 
firearms.   However, after a firearm is sold, no system ensures that the owner has not 
fallen into a prohibited class. This bill requires the Department of Justice to identify and 
establish a data base of individuals who have purchased firearms and later fall into a 
prohibited category, and to provide this information to local law enforcement.  This 
provision is contingent upon an appropriation in the 2002-03 Budget Act. 
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FIREARMS (continued) 

AB 2580 (Simitian)

Status: Chapter 910, Statutes of 2002


This bill requires the Department of Justice to expand gun regulation and 
enforcement activities to include annual inspections of each firm or corporation permitted 
to possess or manufacture short-barreled rifles or shotguns, assault weapons, machine 
guns, and destructive devices for security, safe storage purposes, and to reconcile 
inventory. The bill specifies that a person, firm, or corporation with inventory of less than 
five devices that require a permit are subject to inspection once every five years, or as 
determined by the Department, and it exempts individuals who possess an assault weapon 
permit for non-commercial purposes. 

AB 2695 (Oropeza)

Status: Chapter 830, Statutes of 2002


Subject to available funding, this bill requires the Attorney General, working with the 
Judicial Council, the California Alliance Against Domestic Violence, and specified law 
enforcement groups, to develop a protocol, by January 1, 2005, on the enforcement of 
restrictions on firearms ownership and gun seizures.  It extends, from 72 hours to five 
business days, the time within which a firearm seized at a domestic violence scene must 
be returned. It also extends, from 30 to 60 days, the time within which a law enforcement 
agency that has reasonable cause to believe the return of a gun or other deadly weapon 
would likely result in danger to the victim or reporting witness, to initiate a petition to 
determine if the firearm or other deadly weapons should be returned. 

Cosponsored with the Los Angeles City Attorney’s Office. 

AB 2902 (Koretz)

Status: Chapter 912, Statutes of 2002


This bill authorizes the Department of Justice to annually retest up to ten percent 
of the handgun models listed on the roster of approved "safe" handguns. The bill requires 
any manufacturer wishing to add a handgun to the roster to provide the Department with 
the testing history of the model; if the manufacturer fails to provide this information, the 
Department may exclude the gun from the roster.  It also requires the ammunition used to 
satisfy the "firing requirements for handguns" to be ammunition commercially available and 
certified by the Department as suitable for testing purposes. 
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FORENSIC SERVICES 

SB 627 (Johnston) 
Status: Vetoed, 1999 

This bill would have established the Task Force on Statewide Forensic Services to 
assess the status of crime laboratories in California, including operational and facilities 
matters, and to produce a Statewide Forensic Services Master Plan with recommendations 
to the Governor and the Legislature.  The goal of the Master Plan would be a 
technologically-advanced, cooperative statewide service delivery system to help ensure 
the integrity of the criminal justice system well into the 21st Century.  Examples of issues 
that would have been considered include accreditation, quality assurance, training, 
coordination and collaboration of existing and future service assets, such as costly hi-tech 
equipment and services, and facility usage. 

SB 1558 (Costa) 
Status: Vetoed, 2000 

This bill would have ensured that the costs of blood alcohol tests performed by the 
Department of Justice are fully reimbursed in order to avoid the impairment of the other law 
enforcement functions performed by the Department.  The bill also would have eliminated 
the potential liability of the general fund of a local public entity for a test that is ordered for 
a motorists arrested within the jurisdiction of the public entity.  It would have made the 
reimbursement of the Department’s testing costs dependent upon a more certain source 
of funding and alleviate the potential financial burden on local public entities in enforcing 
public safety laws. 

SB 861 (Costa)

Status: Died - Senate, 2001


This was a reintroduction of SB 1558 (Costa) from 2000, which was vetoed. The 
bill would have changed the process by which the Department of Justice is reimbursed for 
the costs associated with performing forensic tests for the presence of alcohol or drugs. 
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GAMBLING 

SB 829 (Figueroa)

Status: Chapter 351, Statutes of 1999


In 1997, the Legislature enacted the Gambling Control Act to ensure adequate 
regulation of California’s gambling industry.  The Act created the Division of Gambling 
Control to investigate the qualifications of the owners of gambling establishments to 
determine whether they are suitable to hold state gambling licenses.  The Act further 
provided that persons who possessed a valid registration issued under the former Gaming 
Registration Act (which was repealed by the Gambling Control Act) could hold a 
provisional license, which authorized the individual to continue to own or operate a card 
club until summoned by the Division to apply for a new state gambling license. 

This bill permits the Division to extend, for one year, the provisional license of any 
person who had not been summoned prior to December 31, 1998.  Without this authority, 
gambling establishment owners who have not been issued a state gambling license would 
be forced to close their businesses effective January 1, 2000.  The bill also gives the 
Division the express authority to obtain federal level criminal history information for 
licensing purposes. 
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GASOLINE PRICING 

AB 2076 (Shelley)

Status: Chapter 936, Statutes of 2000


This bill responds to the imbalance between in-state supply and demand for 
gasoline, and California’s susceptibility to price spikes.  The bill requires the California 
Energy Commission to study the potential benefits of creating a strategic gasoline reserve 
in California in order to increase gasoline supplies and reduce the likelihood of gasoline 
price spikes.  It also requires the Commission to examine ways the state can optimize its 
gasoline supplies by curbing demand.  

AB 2098 (Migden)

Status: Chapter 963, Statutes of 2000


This bill grew out of the Attorney General’s task force study of the gasoline market, 
which found that California’s high gasoline prices stemmed in part from the combination 
of California’s limited in-state gasoline supplies and the state’s physical isolation and 
distance from potential out-of-state supplies.  This bill requires the California Energy 
Commission to study the feasibility of financing, constructing, or maintaining a new or 
existing pipeline to import gasoline into California, to help determine what action the state 
should take to facilitate increasing California gasoline supplies by pipeline.  

SB 1846 (Speier)

Status: Died - Assembly Appropriations Committee, 2000


This bill would have required the Department of General Services to  examine the 
feasibility of purchasing gasoline from outside the state for use by state agencies and 
requires the Department, after July 1, 2001, seek to purchase gasoline from new sources 
within or outside the state. 

-37




HATE CRIMES 

SB 80 (Hayden) 
Status: Vetoed, 1999 

This bill would have established the Governor’s California Commission on 
Combating Hate Groups and the Attorney General’s Commission on Hate Crime 
Prevention.  The former commission would have been charged with examining civil and 
criminal liability of hate groups and examining possible legislation to minimize the 
influence of hate groups.  The latter commission would have examined the role of the 
Department of Justice in preventing and prosecuting hate crimes and to provide 
recommendations to the Legislature in eleven specific areas, such as improving the 
collection and reporting of hate crime statistics and evaluating the enforcement of criminal 
and civil rights laws aimed at preventing and punishing perpetrators of hate crimes. 

AB 715 (Firebaugh)

Status: Chapter 626, Statutes of 2000


The bill expands the list of reportable hate crimes to include crimes motivated by 
national orgin. 

AB 1312 (Nakano)

Status: Chapter 566, Statutes of 2001


This bill creates in the Department of Justice the Asian Pacific Islander Anti-Hate 
Crimes Program.  The Department will work with a community-based organization to 
develop a statewide program to create brochures and workbooks in order to provide 
information on how to identify and report hate crimes, and to conduct training seminars for 
community organizations in order to better train them to assist themselves or other Asian 
Pacific Islander communities in dealing with hate crimes. 

SB 143 (Murray)

Status: Died - Senate, 2001


This bill would have set standards and provided financial support to city and county 
human relation commissions to sponsor hate violence prevention and response networks. 
It would have established criteria for community based networks, which include public 
agencies such as law enforcement agencies, prosecutors, school districts and sponsoring 
human relations commissions to work cooperatively with community based organizations 
and faith based entities toward preventing, identifying, reporting and responding to hate 
incidents and hate crimes. Funding provided to these networks would have supported 
training for participants, the development of a directory of services for victims, and report 
collection and analyses. 
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HATE CRIMES (continued) 

SB 144 (Murray)

Status: Died - Senate, 2001


This bill would have established, within the Department of Justice, a statewide toll-
free telephone number and Web site to allow victims and witnesses to report hate crimes 
and hate incidences committed by any person.  The Web site would have allowed for 
online submission capability and trained staff available to take reports from victims and 
witnesses on the toll free telephone line.  Trained staff  also would have made victims and 
witnesses aware of resources available to assist them in all areas of the state.  The bill 
also would have required a protocol be developed for the Department of Justice staff to 
follow when receiving incident reports, which would include ensuring the immediate safety 
of the victim and witness, facilitating the reporting of the crime to the appropriate local law 
enforcement agency, assessing the needs of the victim and making them aware of 
appropriate, available resources, and following up to ensure the needs of the victim and 
witness were addressed. 

SB 1139 (Figueroa)

Status: Died - Senate, 2001


This bill would have allocated $500,000 per year for three years to the School Law 
Enforcement Partnership program to provide K-12 schools with those things they need to 
put in place programs for preventing, identifying, reporting, and appropriately responding 
to intergroup tensions, hate incidents and hate crimes. It also would have required three 
units of training on school intergroup relations be added to the required curriculum for an 
administrative credential; provided that additional funds be made available to allow all 
schools to administer the California Healthy Kids Survey; expanded  the Attorney 
General’s biennial statewide California Student Survey in order to gain information about 
students’ perceptions of hate crimes; and granted financial awards to individual schools 
that voluntarily implement a hate crime reporting procedure and fund a Department of 
Education study of the effectiveness of currently existing hate crime programs and policies 
in school districts. 
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IDENTITY THEFT 

AB 1764 (Wayne)

Status: Died - Senate Public Safety Committee, 2002


This bill would have expanded the scope of the offense of false personation to 
include electronic communications (e-mail) in which a person sends an electronic 
communication to another using the e-mail address of the person being impersonated with 
the intent to injure or defraud. Violation of this offense would be a misdemeanor for a first 
conviction and a wobbler, punishable by up to 1 year in county jail, 16 months, 2, or 3 
years in state prison, and/or a fine of up to $10,000, for a second or subsequent violation. 

Cosponsored with the California District Attorneys Association. 

AB 1773 (Wayne)

Status: Chapter 908, Statutes of 2002


This bill provides that a district attorney may prosecute a person for the 
unauthorized use of personal identifying information in either the county where the 
information was taken or the county where the information was used for an illegal purpose. 
If the same defendant or defendants used the same personal identifying information 
belonging to one person in multiple jurisdictions, all of the offenses may be prosecuted in 
any one of the jurisdictions where the same defendant or defendants used the information 
for an illegal purpose, or the jurisdiction where the personal identifying information was 
taken. 

Cosponsored with the California District Attorneys Association. 
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LAW ENFORCEMENT - MISCELLANEOUS 

SB 451 (Schiff)

Status: Provisions amended out, 2000


This bill would have required that alleged criminal incidents involving Department 
of Corrections’ employees or agents be immediately reported to the Attorney General’s 
office.  Subject to any memorandum of understanding, the Attorney General could have 
elected to investigate the allegation. 

SB 555 (Karnette)

Status: Chapter 518, Statutes of 1999


This bill makes the arson registration statutes more concise, and more closely 
conforms the statute to process required by the sex registration statutes.  Specifically, this 
bill clarifies existing law by requiring persons convicted of aggravated arson to register; 
clarifies existing law by stating that registration as an arson offender is a life-long 
requirement for a person convicted after 1994, and a five-year duty for a person convicted 
before that date and ordered to do so by the court; reinstates for five years the factor in 
aggravation of $5 million damages for the offense of aggravated arson; shortens the period 
of time from 30 to 14 days that a person convicted of arson must register with law 
enforcement; simplifies existing law by providing that a juvenile committed to the California 
Youth Authority for arson must register until the age of 25 or until the record is sealed, 
whichever occurs first; provides that the probation department, rather than the court, has 
the duty to inform a defendant released on probation of his or her duty to register as an 
arson offender; and provides that a person convicted of a misdemeanor may be relieved 
of the duty to register if he or she successfully petition the court to dismiss a complaint 
following the successful completion of probation. 

SB 1751 (Schiff)

Status: Failed passage in Senate Public Safety Committee, 2000


This bill would have required law enforcement agencies to report juvenile arrest 
data to the Department of Justice. 

SB 1859 (Chesbro)

Status: Chapter 233, Statutes of 2000


This bill eliminates a requirement that law enforcement agencies must notify the 
Department of Justice of any threat against a public official. 

AB 1476 (Dickerson)

Status: Died - Assembly, 2001


This bill would have established within the Department of Justice a statewide 
Unsolved Violent Crime Program to assist local law enforcement in the investigation and 
resolution of unsolved violent crimes such as homicides, sexual assaults and kidnaping. 
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LAW ENFORCEMENT - MISCELLANEOUS  (continued) 

AB 2379 (Frommer)

Status: Died - Assembly Appropriations Committee, 2002


This bill would have required a secondhand dealer, coin dealer, or pawn broker to 
make all required transaction reports to the Department of Justice Secondhand Dealer 
Web Site, beginning 12 months after the web site becomes fully operational, rather than 
to the chief of police or the sheriff. It also would have required a fingerprint taken by a 
secondhand dealer or coin dealer of an intended seller to be retained for three years and 
required a secondhand dealer or coin dealer to retain hard copies of any required reports 
for three years. 

SB 1739 (Morrow)

Status: Chapter 210, Statutes of 2002


This bill makes changes to the existing Witness Protection Program to allow local 
prosecutors, as well as the Attorney General, to identify participants in the program and 
to be responsible for those witnesses. 

Cosponsored with the California District Attorneys Association. 
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MISSING PERSONS 

SB 1818 (Speier)

Status: Chapter 822, Statues of 2000


This bill requires the Department of Justice to develop a DNA data bank to include 
profiles from the remains of unidentified deceased persons, which can then be compared 
against DNA profiles from samples voluntarily provided by the parents or other relatives 
of “high-risk missing persons.”  A high-risk missing person is defined as a person missing 
as a result of stranger abduction, missing under suspicious circumstances, or who is 
believed to be in danger or dead.  The data bank is to be separate from the Department’s 
criminal offender data bank. 

SB 297 (Speier)

Status: Chapter 467, Statutes of 2001


As of January 1, 2001, the Department of Justice maintains a DNA data base for 
all cases involving the report of an unidentified deceased person or a high-risk missing 
person, and compares the samples taken from the unidentified deceased persons with the 
samples taken from the parents or appropriate relatives of high-risk missing persons. 
Under existing law, all samples and DNA extracted from living persons are to be destroyed 
after a positive identification is made and a report is issued. 

This bill permits retention of the DNA evidence when the coroner or a law 
enforcement agency has reasonable grounds to suspect the person’s death was caused 
by criminal means or when the evidence is needed for a pending criminal investigation or 
prosecution.  The proposal also eliminates the civil liability provisions for those who 
collect, process or store DNA samples, and substitutes the expanded criminal provisions 
contained in the DNA and Forensic Identification Data Base and Data Bank Act of 1998 
as the appropriate sanction for failure to maintain the confidentiality of DNA identification 
information. 

AB 415 (Runner)

Status: Chapter 517, Statutes of 2002


This bill states the Legislature’s intent that the Governor and the California Highway 
Patrol, in consultation with the Department of Justice, shall implement the use of the 
Emergency Alert System and other current warning systems in use and establish them 
statewide so that the statewide system resembles the Amber Plan, Texas' early-warning 
system to respond to child kidnappings. 

This bill requires a law enforcement agency that is informed of the abduction of a 
child 17 years of age or younger, or an individual with a proven mental or physical 
disability, and that determines the victim is in imminent danger of serious bodily injury or 
death and there is information available that, if disseminated to the general public, could 
assist with the safe recovery of the victim, to request, absent extenuating investigative 
needs, activation of the Emergency Alert System within the appropriate local area.  It also 
requires the California Highway Patrol, in consultation with the Department of Justice, to 
develop policies and procedures relating to activation of the System and to develop a 
comprehensive child abduction education program. 

Cosponsored with the Polly Klaas Foundation. 
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SEXUAL OFFENDERS 

AB 1193 (Leonard)

Status: Chapter 576, Statutes of 1999


This bill makes changes to California's sex offender registration law that were 
required by federal law in order for California to avoid losing $5 million dollars in annual 
crime funding (Byrne Funds) from the federal government.  Specifically, it requires that out-
of-state sex offenders who work or attend school in California register in California as sex 
offenders, and it requires a minimum registration period of ten years, by extending the 
period required to obtain a certificate of rehabilitation.  The bill also requires sex offenders 
who have more than one residence address to register at each address. 

AB 1340 (Honda)

Status: Chapter 648, Statutes of 2000


In 1995, the Legislature enacted Megan’s Law, which permits law enforcement 
entities to notify the public about serious and high-risk sex offenders from whom they may 
be at risk.  The law also requires some law enforcement entities, and permits other law 
enforcement entities, to make available for public viewing a CD-ROM with information 
about serious and high-risk sex offenders.  

This bill makes technical changes to the law’s immunity and disclosure provisions, 
and it adds specified registerable sex offenses to the list of crimes subject to notification. 
It also allows a child accompanied by a parent or guardian to view the Megan’s Law CD-
ROM, and it extends the January 1, 2001 sunset on the CD-ROM program and the 
complimentary “900" telephone number program, which allows the public telephonic 
access to sex offender information. 

SB 11 (Schiff)

Status: Chapter 136, Statutes of 1999


This bill provides that a petition to have an offender declared to be a sexually 
violent predator will not be dismissed on the basis of a later judicial or administrative 
determination that the individual's custody was unlawful as the result of a good faith 
mistake of fact or law.  The bill ensures that petitions to commit dangerous sex offenders 
to mental health facilities for treatment after their terms have expired cannot be dismissed 
solely because a judge found that the prisoner's term was inadvertently miscalculated. 

Co-sponsored with the Los Angeles County District Attorney’s Office. 
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SEXUAL OFFENDERS (continued) 

SB 341 (Figueroa)

Status: Chapter 901, Statutes of 1999


This bill corrects a technical oversight in Penal Code section 290.  Section 290 
provides for registration of juvenile sex offenders for specified serious sex offenses, but 
the penalty subdivision of section 290 refers only to penalties for those "convicted" of 
registerable sex crimes.  Because juveniles suffer "adjudications" rather than convictions, 
this bill amends the language of the penalty subdivision to clarify the legislature’s intent 
that persons who violate the requirement to register as sex offenders, whose duty to 
register is based on a juvenile adjudication, are subject to penalties for failure to register. 

AB 1742 (Correa)

Status: Chapter 235, Statutes of 2000


This bill extends the statute of limitations in felony sex cases from six to ten years. 
It also allows for the prosecution of these cases beyond that 10-year period if charges are 
filed within one year of the date on which the perpetrator’s identity is established by DNA 
evidence that was tested in a timely manner. 

AB 1784 (Figueroa)

Status: Chapter 657, Statues of 2000


Existing law makes it a misdemeanor to annoy or molest a child under the age of 
18 years. The crime is punishable as a felony if the defendant previously has been 
convicted of child molestation, lewd or lascivious conduct with a child, or a felony violation 
of employing a minor to perform prohibited acts when the minor was under the age of 14 
years. 

This bill expands the list of prior offenses that would make a subsequent violation 
of this provision a felony, by including specified felony sex offenses upon a child under the 
age of 16 years. 

AB 4 (Bates)

Status: Chapter 544, Statutes of 2001


This bill makes changes to California’s sex offender registration law to bring the 
state into compliance with federal law.  Specifically, it requires that, in addition to 
registering with the local police or sheriff, a registered sex offender must register with the 
campus police of a university, college, community college, or other institution of higher 
learning within five days of coming onto the campus to live, or within five working days of 
commencing enrollment or employment there.  The failure to enact these provisions would 
have resulted in a loss to California of 10 percent of its total federal crime funds, which 
would mean an annual loss of approximately $5.5 million. 
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SEXUAL OFFENDERS (continued) 

SB 552 (Figueroa)

Status: Died - Senate, 2001


Existing law requires a trial court to seal juror identifying information after the jury’s 
verdict is recorded in a criminal trial.  Identifying information is accessible only upon a 
showing of good cause.  Courts are also required to advise jurors they are protected from 
harassment and unwarranted contact as a result of their deliberation.  These provisions 
do not apply to civil cases, and because Sexually Violent Predator  proceedings are civil 
in nature, the confidentiality provisions are inapplicable to them.  This bill would have 
extended the juror confidentiality protections that are available in criminal proceedings to 
Sexually Violent Predator proceedings. 

SB 721 (Battin)

Status: Died - Senate, 2001


This bill would have required the Department of Justice to make sex offender 
information now accessible to the public on the Megan’s Law CD-ROM available to the 
public via the Internet.  A person applying to view the Internet site would have been 
required to provide his or her current California driver’s license number or California 
identification card number and his or her current address, which must match, before being 
allowed access to the site.  Qualified applicants would be allowed to view information 
regarding serious and high-risk sex offenders registered in the county in which the 
applicant resides.  Registered sex offenders would not be permitted access to the site. 

SB 836 (Scott)

Status: Chapter 17, Statutes of 2002


This bill corrects a technical problem in the sex offender registration law. 

AB 2229 (Nation)

Status: Died - Senate Public Safety Committee, 2002


This bill would have made two changes to the Sexually Violent Predator law to 
reflect current practice.  Specifically, it would have required the Director of Mental Health 
to provide a committed sexually violent predator with notice of his or her right to petition 
the court for unconditional release, and it would have provided that if the person does not 
affirmatively waiver his or her right to petition the court for unconditional release, the court 
would be required to set a show cause hearing. 
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SEXUAL OFFENDERS (continued) 

AB 2794 (Reyes)

Status: Chapter 831, Statutes of 2002


Current law requires or permits a court to order persons convicted of, and, in some 
instances, charged with, specified sex offenses to submit to a blood test for evidence of 
HIV or AIDS. This bill expands the list of sex crimes that require the defendant to submit 
to testing.  The bill also provides that the testing may be done on oral mucosal transudate 
in addition to blood, which will make testing more efficient and less expensive. 

Cosponsored with the Alameda County District Attorney’s Office. 

SB 1965 (Alpert)

Status: Chapter 118, Statutes of 2002


Under current law, a person wishing to view the California Megan’s Law CD-Rom 
must present identification in the form of a California driver’s license or California 
identification card.  This bill permits, in addition, a person to present, as identification, a 
Military identification card and proof of California residence. 

Cosponsored with San Diego County Board of Supervisors. 
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TOBACCO 

SB 689 (Johnston)

Status: Chapter 349, Statutes of 1999


This bill addresses a potential conflict of interest issue regarding county 
commissions established pursuant to Proposition 10, which imposes excise taxes on 
cigarettes and other tobacco products to promote and develop early childhood 
development programs.  Because counties are potential recipients of Proposition 10 funds, 
there was uncertainty as to whether, under Government Code section 1090, a county 
would be prohibited from receiving funds under Proposition 10 if one of its employees 
served on a commission established pursuant to the proposition. 

The Legislative history indicates the Legislature intended, in a situation such as 
this, that the board member disqualify himself or herself, while permitting the remaining 
board members to authorize the contract.  However, the availability of disqualification 
under these circumstances was never placed in a statutory exception.  Accordingly, 
without legislation, a governmental entity with employees on a Proposition 10 commission 
may be prohibited from receiving any funds at all.  This bill creates a remote interest 
exception to Government Code section 1090 so as to effectuate the Legislature’s intent 
and to permit counties to implement the provisions of Proposition 10. 

SB 822 (Escutia)

Status: Chapter 780, Statutes of 1999


In 1998, California, together with 45 other states, five territories, and the District of 
Columbia, entered into a Master Settlement Agreement (MSA) with the tobacco 
companies. The MSA requires the tobacco companies to make payments to the state, in 
perpetuity, totaling an estimated $35 billion through 2025.  

Under the MSA, payments to the states by tobacco product manufacturers 
participating in the settlement are lower if sales by nonparticipating manufacturers 
increase beyond a certain amount.  A state may protect itself from this potentially 
significant reduction in payments under the MSA if it enacts and enforces a qualifying 
nonparticipating manufacturer statute.  This bill enacts such a statute, requiring 
manufacturers of tobacco products either to agree to be bound by the MSA or have 
adequate sums on deposit to satisfy claims against them. 
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TOBACCO (continued) 

SB 1510 (Escutia)

Status: Died - Senate, 2000


This bill would have enacted permanent restrictions on the retail sale or distribution 
of tobacco to ensure that minors have fewer avenues of access to tobacco products.  The 
restrictions included a prohibition on self-service displays to sell certain tobacco products 
and on free samples of tobacco products distributed in areas open to the general public, 
including minors.  This bill also would have imposed a minimum unit size on the sale of 
tobacco products. 

AB 412 (Wesson)

Status: Enacted in SB 757 (Ortiz) Chapter 376, Statutes of 2001


This bill imposes a civil penalty for the sale of cigarettes by means of a self-service 
display, as defined. It authorizes the Attorney General, a city attorney, a county counsel, 
or a district attorney, to bring a civil action to enforce this sale restriction, and it specifies 
that the provisions relating to self-service displays exclude tobacco product vending 
machines located at least 15 feet from the entrance of a public premise licensed to sell 
alcoholic beverages. 

The bill also prohibits the nonsale distribution of tobacco on private property that 
is open to the general public, as defined, and it specifies that the provisions relating to the 
nonsale distribution of tobacco on private property that is open to the general public 
exclude locations where minors are prohibited by law and locations leased for private 
functions where minors are denied access by a peace officer or licensed security guard 
on the premises.  The bill further imposes an infraction or civil penalty for the 
manufacturing, distribution, sale, or offering of a package of cigarettes that does not 
contain at least 20 cigarettes or a package of roll-your-own tobacco that does not contain 
at least 0.60 ounces of tobacco. 

SB 322 (Ortiz)

Status: Chapter 375, Statutes of 2001


This bill prohibits any person from selling, offering for sale, distributing, or importing 
a tobacco product referred to as bidis or beedies unless the product is sold, offered for 
sale, or intended to be sold in a business that excludes minors from its premises. This bill 
makes a violation of this prohibition a misdemeanor or subject to a civil action. 

SB 757 (Ortiz)

Status: Chapter 376, Statutes of 2001


This bill authorizes the Department of Justice to conduct onsite sting inspections 
in response to public complaints regarding the sale of tobacco products to minors or at 
retail locations where previous violations have occurred. It also authorizes the Department 
of Justice to investigate illegal sales of tobacco products to minors by telephone, mail, or 
the Internet. 
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VICTIMS


AB 409 (Correa)

Status: Chapter 552, Statutes of 2001


Existing law permits the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims 
Board to provide assistance to victims and derivative victims of crimes for the pecuniary 
losses they suffer if the application is filed within one year of the date of the crime or the 
victim attains the age of 18 years, whichever is later.  There are narrow exceptions to the 
one-year filing requirement. This bill creates an exception to the one-year filing 
requirement in capital cases when there is documentation that either the victim or 
derivative victim filing the application was not informed of the provisions of this program 
or he or she has received official notification that a date has been set for a parole hearing, 
clemency hearing, or execution of the perpetrator or perpetrators. 

SB 1867 (Figueroa)

Status: Chapter 630, Statutes of 2002


Existing law permits the California Victim Compensation and Government Claims 
Board to provide assistance to victims of crimes for the monetary losses they suffer.  In 
order to prevent abuses, the law requires the Board to deny assistance if it finds either that 
the victim knowingly and willingly participated in the crime, unless the crime was unlawful 
sexual intercourse with a person under 16 by a person over 21, or the victim failed to 
reasonably cooperate with law enforcement in the apprehension and conviction of the 
perpetrator.  This bill requires the Board, in a case of a victim of domestic abuse or sexual 
assault, to consider specified factors, such as the victim's age, physical condition, 
psychological or emotional condition, compelling health or personal safety factors, 
reasonable fears of retaliation, and cultural or linguistic barriers, in determining whether 
the victim is eligible for assistance. 
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VICTIMS (continued) 

SB 1887 (McPherson)

Status: Chapter 633, Statutes of 2002


In early 2002, the California State Supreme Court struck down one of two provisions 
in California’s “Son of Sam” law, which sought to prevent a convicted felon from exploiting 
the felon’s crimes for financial gain while victims of the crime went uncompensated.  This 
bill is a  legislative response to the court’s decision, which found the existing statute, 
insofar as it relates to the selling of the felon’s story, to violate the First Amendment right 
to freedom of speech.  The bill addresses this issue by amending the ordinarily-applicable 
statute of limitations for the filing by a victim of specified violent offenses to initiate a 
lawsuit against a convicted felon to recover damages from the convicted felon for physical, 
mental, or emotional injury, or for monetary loss. It provides that an action for damages 
against a defendant based upon the defendant's commission of a felony offense for which 
the defendant has been convicted may be commenced within 10 years of the date on 
which the defendant is discharged from parole, if the conviction was for a specified violent 
offense. The newly extended statute of limitations does not apply if the defendant has 
received a certificate of rehabilitation.  The change in the statute of limitations applies to 
any action commenced before, on, or after the effective date of the bill, including any 
action otherwise barred by a limitation of time in effect prior to the effective date of the bill, 
thereby reviving causes of action that had lapsed or technically expired under the law 
existing prior the effective date of the bill. 
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WARRANTS 

SB 1310 (Vasconcellos)

Status: Chapter 940, Statutes of 2000


This bill allows all outstanding arrest warrants to be entered into the Department of 
Justice’s Wanted Persons System, a statewide data base.  It requires the Department of 
Justice, the state taxing authority, and the State Lottery Commission to examine ways to 
use the Wanted Persons System to enhance existing tax refund and lottery winnings offset 
and collection procedures.  It further requires any state or local government agency, upon 
request, to provide the Department of Justice, a court, or any California law enforcement 
agency with the address of any person for whom there is an outstanding arrest warrant. 
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