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What is an appeal? 
An appeal is when the defendant asks a higher court 
(appeals court) to decide if s/he got a fair trial. In 
California, any defendant who is found guilty of a 
felony after a trial has the right to ask for an appeal. 

Is an appeal similar to a trial? 
No. An appeal is different than a trial. There are no 
witnesses and no jury. The lawyers present their cases 
(mostly in writing) to a panel of judges. The judges 
will decide if the defendant got a fair trial or not. 
They will not reconsider what happened during the 
crime. 

How long will the appeal take? 
The defendant has 60 days after sentencing to tell 
the appeals court s/he will appeal. If the defendant 
appeals, the Attorney General’s Office will assign 
a lawyer (Deputy Attorney General) to defend the 
appeal. 

The Deputy Attorney General and the defendant’s 
attorney will prepare written arguments for the 
judges. This may take 6–9 months. In some cases, the 
lawyers from both sides argue before the judges (oral 
argument). 

Then, the judges take about 90 days to prepare a 
written decision on the case. The whole process takes 
9 months to a year, or more. 

What can the judges decide? 
The judges can decide to affirm, modify or reverse 
the case. 

What if the case is affirmed? 
If the judges decide to affirm, this means they agree 
with the original decision. There will be no change to 
the conviction or the sentence. 

But, this does not necessarily mean the case is over. 
The defendant may ask the judges to review the case 

again. Or, the defendant can appeal to the California 
Supreme Court or a federal court. 

What if the case is modified? 
This means the judges have changed part of the 
conviction or the sentence. If this happens, the 
defendant may ask the judges to review the case 
again or appeal the case to the California Supreme 
Court. If a review is not requested, usually the trial 
court will make the changes. 

What if the case is reversed? 
This means the judges have decided to throw out the 
original conviction or sentence. They may send the 
case back to the original trial court for a new trial 
(called a retrial). Or, they may overturn the case. This 
means the case is over and there will be no new trial. 

Can the Attorney General’s Office ask to 
have the judges’ decision changed? 
Yes. In some cases, the Attorney General’s Office may 
ask the judges to reconsider their decision. Or, they 
may appeal to the California Supreme Court. 

Can the Attorney General’s Office of 
Victims’ Services (OVS) help me? 
Yes. Our goal is to support and serve victims and 
survivors of crime, even after the trial is over. Appeals 
can be confusing and frustrating. 

OVS will track your case and let you know what is 
happening with the appeals process. We can also 
answer your questions. We can help you during and 
after the appeal. 

Call OVS to speak to an advocate over the phone. 
(877) 433-9069 toll-free! 

How will I know if there is an appeal? 
Fill out a Victim Notification form after the defendant 
is sentenced. Your local Victim Witness office will 



Can I have a copy of the judges’ decision? 
If your case was modified or reversed, we will send 
you a copy of the judges’ decision. 

If it was affirmed (nothing changed), you will not be 
sent a copy. If you would like a copy, ask us to send 
you one. 

Resources 
OVS publications for victims and support agencies 
include: 

• Help for Victims of Crime (discusses all OVS 
services) 

• Capital Case Guide (for death penalty cases) 

• Execution and Clemency 

These materials and more information about OVS are 
available in print or  
on-line at: 

www.ag.ca.gov/victimservices 

Need more help? 
Call us, or write us at: 

Office of the Attorney General 
Ê
Office of Victims’ Services 
Ê
1300 I Street 
Ê
P.O. Box 944255 
Ê
Sacramento, CA 95814
Ê

Tel: (877) 433-9069   toll-free! 

e-mail: victimservices@doj.ca.gov 

 

give you the form and can help you fill it out. Or, 
contact OVS directly. 

What if I do NOT want to know about the 
appeal? 
Some victims do not want to know about the appeal 
because it will remind them of the pain and trauma 
they experienced from the crime. 

If you do not want to know what happens to the 
case, say so on the Victim Notification form that your 
local Victim Witness office asks you to fill out after 
the sentencing. 

What if the defendant does not appeal? 
If the defendant has not appealed by the deadline, 
we will send you a letter saying there will probably 
not be an appeal. 

If the deadline has not passed, but we don’t have any 
information about an appeal, we will let you know 
that we are still waiting to see if the defendant will 
appeal. 

What if the defendant appeals? 
If the defendant has appealed, we will send you a 
letter to let you know about the appeal. We will also 
ask you if you want to go to the oral argument (if 
there is one). And, when the appeal is decided, we 
will let you know. 

Remember: You can always call OVS if you have any 
questions about the appeal. 

Can I go to the oral argument? 
Yes, but most appeals do not have an oral argument. 
If you are interested in going, let us know.  We will 
tell you if one is scheduled and where it will be. 
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